Skip to content
buybitcoinsmart

Foundation Passport vs OneKey

Comparing
two wallets
Decided by
Editorial rating
Last reviewed
2026-08-26
Foundation Passport4.3Bitcoin-only

Bitcoin-only hardware from a US company, now sold as the $349 Passport Prime: keys, two factor codes, security keys and encrypted storage in one device.

Open source line from $79 to $278, including a bitcoin-only Classic 1S Pure, with apps on every desktop, phone and the browser.

Verdict: Foundation Passport

Foundation Passport rates higher on our rubric: 4.3 against 3.7 for OneKey.

Criterion
Editorial rating
Foundation Passport
4.3
OneKey
3.7

Foundation Passport and OneKey, fact by fact

Every row is from the two reviews as of their review dates, with sources on each. A check marks the side a decidable criterion favours; rows without one are information, not a score.

Foundation Passport and OneKey compared fact by fact from their reviews; a check marks the side a decidable criterion favours.
FactFoundation PassportOneKey
Editorial rating4.3 (favoured on this row)3.7
StatusAvailableAvailable
Made byFoundation DevicesOneKey
Price$349$99
Who holds the keysself-custodial, keys held on dedicated hardware and isolated from sandboxed apps by the KeyOS microkernelself-custodial, keys held on the device, with firmware developed in the open
Bitcoin-onlyYesNo
Runs oniOS, AndroidiOS, Android, Windows, macOS, Linux, Browser extension
ScreenNot statedNot stated
ConnectivityQuantumLink encrypted Bluetooth through a dedicated chip, plus NFC and USB for security key use; setup and updates run through the Envoy appVaries by model; the companion app runs on desktop, on phones and as a browser extension
ReleasedNot statedNot stated
Countries on the maker's listNo published listNo published list
Last reviewed2026-08-262026-08-26

Pros and cons, side by side

Foundation Passport

What works

  • Bitcoin only, with open source apps and a published independent audit quote
  • KeyOS sandboxes apps so a compromised app cannot reach the master keys
  • Bluetooth runs through a dedicated chip rather than the processor holding your secrets
  • Envoy is distributed on F-Droid as well as the App Store and Google Play
  • Assembled in the USA, which matters if supply chain provenance is part of your threat model

What to watch

  • $349 is well above most bitcoin-only signers
  • Passport Core, the cheaper earlier model, has been discontinued
  • No reachable country list: the terms name a Shipping Policy that is not published anywhere, and Foundation may refuse an order over export or sanctions concerns
  • A smaller company with a shorter public track record than Ledger, Trezor or Coinkite

OneKey

What works

  • Four signing models from $79 to $278, including a bitcoin-only Classic 1S Pure
  • Companion app on iOS, Android, Windows, macOS, Linux and as a browser extension
  • Firmware and apps are developed in public on GitHub
  • Faulty devices are replaced rather than repaired, so no repair shop handles your hardware

What to watch

  • Not bitcoin-only outside the Classic 1S Pure bitcoin edition
  • Specifications vary widely across the range, so the brand name alone tells you little about the device you are buying
  • Researchers opened a OneKey Mini in 2023 with physical access and lab hardware, which OneKey patched but which is part of the brand's record
  • No published shipping country policy: the help center article that should carry one returns a 404
  • A shorter public track record than Ledger, Trezor or Coinkite

Frequently asked questions

Is Foundation Passport or OneKey better?

Foundation Passport rates higher on our rubric: 4.3 against 3.7 for OneKey. The rating follows the product rubric published on our about page; the rows above set custody, price and platforms side by side so you can check it.

Which is cheaper, Foundation Passport or OneKey?

OneKey, at $99 against $349, on each maker's own store price as of the review date.

Is Foundation Passport or OneKey bitcoin-only?

Foundation Passport is bitcoin-only; OneKey supports other assets too. Multi-asset across the line, with a bitcoin-only Classic 1S Pure sold at the same $79 as the standard model

The full reviews: Foundation Passport and OneKey, each with its sources, and every wallet we review.

More comparisons

Every other head-to-head Foundation Passport or OneKey appears in.