Foundation Passport vs Trezor Safe 3
- Comparing
- two wallets
- Decided by
- Editorial rating
- Last reviewed
- 2026-08-26
Bitcoin-only hardware from a US company, now sold as the $349 Passport Prime: keys, two factor codes, security keys and encrypted storage in one device.
Trezor's $59 entry device, pairing a certified secure element with fully open source firmware and two physical buttons.
Verdict: Trezor Safe 3
Trezor Safe 3 rates higher on our rubric: 4.5 against 4.3 for Foundation Passport.
- Criterion
- Editorial rating
- Foundation Passport
- 4.3
- Trezor Safe 3
- 4.5
Foundation Passport and Trezor Safe 3, fact by fact
Every row is from the two reviews as of their review dates, with sources on each. A check marks the side a decidable criterion favours; rows without one are information, not a score.
| Fact | Foundation Passport | Trezor Safe 3 |
|---|---|---|
| Editorial rating | 4.3 | 4.5 (favoured on this row) |
| Status | Available | Available |
| Made by | Foundation Devices | Trezor |
| Price | $349 | $59 |
| Who holds the keys | self-custodial, keys held on dedicated hardware and isolated from sandboxed apps by the KeyOS microkernel | self-custodial, keys held in an EAL6+ certified secure element running open source firmware |
| Bitcoin-only | Yes | No |
| Runs on | iOS, Android | Android, Windows, macOS, Linux |
| Screen | Not stated | 0.96 inch monochrome OLED, 128 x 64 pixels, with a two button pad |
| Connectivity | QuantumLink encrypted Bluetooth through a dedicated chip, plus NFC and USB for security key use; setup and updates run through the Envoy app | USB-C; Trezor Suite on Windows, macOS, Linux and Android, view only on iOS |
| Released | Not stated | 2023 |
| Countries on the maker's list | No published list | No published list |
| Last reviewed | 2026-08-26 | 2026-08-25 |
Pros and cons, side by side
Foundation Passport
What works
- Bitcoin only, with open source apps and a published independent audit quote
- KeyOS sandboxes apps so a compromised app cannot reach the master keys
- Bluetooth runs through a dedicated chip rather than the processor holding your secrets
- Envoy is distributed on F-Droid as well as the App Store and Google Play
- Assembled in the USA, which matters if supply chain provenance is part of your threat model
What to watch
- $349 is well above most bitcoin-only signers
- Passport Core, the cheaper earlier model, has been discontinued
- No reachable country list: the terms name a Shipping Policy that is not published anywhere, and Foundation may refuse an order over export or sanctions concerns
- A smaller company with a shorter public track record than Ledger, Trezor or Coinkite
Trezor Safe 3
What works
- EAL6+ certified secure element and fully open source firmware at $59
- PIN and passphrase are typed on the device, never on a possibly compromised computer
- Multi-share (Shamir) backup and FIDO2 two factor support are built in
- A Bitcoin-only edition is sold alongside the multi coin version
What to watch
- Two buttons and a 0.96 inch monochrome screen make checking a long address slower than on a touchscreen
- iOS is view only: no setup, sending or device management from an iPhone
- SecurityWeek reported in August 2026 that a breach at fulfilment partner ShipMonk exposed about 14,000 customers' shipping details
- Trezor publishes no list of countries it ships to, only a checkout drop-down
Frequently asked questions
Is Foundation Passport or Trezor Safe 3 better?
Trezor Safe 3 rates higher on our rubric: 4.5 against 4.3 for Foundation Passport. The rating follows the product rubric published on our about page; the rows above set custody, price and platforms side by side so you can check it.
Which is cheaper, Foundation Passport or Trezor Safe 3?
Trezor Safe 3, at $59 against $349, on each maker's own store price as of the review date.
Is Foundation Passport or Trezor Safe 3 bitcoin-only?
Foundation Passport is bitcoin-only; Trezor Safe 3 supports other assets too. Multi edition manages thousands of coins and tokens; a separate Bitcoin-only edition is also sold
The full reviews: Foundation Passport and Trezor Safe 3, each with its sources, and every wallet we review.
More comparisons
Every other head-to-head Foundation Passport or Trezor Safe 3 appears in.
- BitBox02 vs Foundation Passport
- Blockstream Jade vs Foundation Passport
- Coldcard vs Foundation Passport
- Foundation Passport vs KeepKey
- Foundation Passport vs Keystone 3 Pro
- Foundation Passport vs Ledger Flex
- Foundation Passport vs Ledger Nano S Plus
- Foundation Passport vs Ledger Stax
- Foundation Passport vs Ledger Nano X
- Foundation Passport vs OneKey
- Foundation Passport vs SafePal S1
- Foundation Passport vs Tangem Wallet
- Foundation Passport vs Trezor Safe 5
- BitBox02 vs Trezor Safe 3
- Blockstream Jade vs Trezor Safe 3
- Coldcard vs Trezor Safe 3
- KeepKey vs Trezor Safe 3
- Keystone 3 Pro vs Trezor Safe 3
- Ledger Flex vs Trezor Safe 3
- Ledger Nano S Plus vs Trezor Safe 3
- Ledger Stax vs Trezor Safe 3
- Ledger Nano X vs Trezor Safe 3
- OneKey vs Trezor Safe 3
- SafePal S1 vs Trezor Safe 3
- Tangem Wallet vs Trezor Safe 3
- Trezor Safe 3 vs Trezor Safe 5
