Skip to content
buybitcoinsmart

Foundation Passport vs Trezor Safe 5

Comparing
two wallets
Decided by
Editorial rating
Last reviewed
2026-08-26
Foundation Passport4.3Bitcoin-only

Bitcoin-only hardware from a US company, now sold as the $349 Passport Prime: keys, two factor codes, security keys and encrypted storage in one device.

Trezor's touchscreen model at $129: a color display and haptic feedback over the same secure element the $59 Safe 3 uses.

Verdict: Trezor Safe 5

Trezor Safe 5 rates higher on our rubric: 4.4 against 4.3 for Foundation Passport.

Criterion
Editorial rating
Foundation Passport
4.3
Trezor Safe 5
4.4

Foundation Passport and Trezor Safe 5, fact by fact

Every row is from the two reviews as of their review dates, with sources on each. A check marks the side a decidable criterion favours; rows without one are information, not a score.

Foundation Passport and Trezor Safe 5 compared fact by fact from their reviews; a check marks the side a decidable criterion favours.
FactFoundation PassportTrezor Safe 5
Editorial rating4.34.4 (favoured on this row)
StatusAvailableAvailable
Made byFoundation DevicesTrezor
Price$349$129
Who holds the keysself-custodial, keys held on dedicated hardware and isolated from sandboxed apps by the KeyOS microkernelself-custodial, keys held in an EAL6+ certified secure element running open source firmware
Bitcoin-onlyYesNo
Runs oniOS, AndroidAndroid, Windows, macOS, Linux
ScreenNot stated1.54 inch color touchscreen, 240 x 240 pixels, Gorilla Glass 3, with haptic feedback
ConnectivityQuantumLink encrypted Bluetooth through a dedicated chip, plus NFC and USB for security key use; setup and updates run through the Envoy appUSB-C and a microSD slot; Trezor Suite on Windows, macOS, Linux and Android, view only on iOS
ReleasedNot stated2024
Countries on the maker's listNo published listNo published list
Last reviewed2026-08-262026-08-25

Pros and cons, side by side

Foundation Passport

What works

  • Bitcoin only, with open source apps and a published independent audit quote
  • KeyOS sandboxes apps so a compromised app cannot reach the master keys
  • Bluetooth runs through a dedicated chip rather than the processor holding your secrets
  • Envoy is distributed on F-Droid as well as the App Store and Google Play
  • Assembled in the USA, which matters if supply chain provenance is part of your threat model

What to watch

  • $349 is well above most bitcoin-only signers
  • Passport Core, the cheaper earlier model, has been discontinued
  • No reachable country list: the terms name a Shipping Policy that is not published anywhere, and Foundation may refuse an order over export or sanctions concerns
  • A smaller company with a shorter public track record than Ledger, Trezor or Coinkite

Trezor Safe 5

What works

  • Color touchscreen with haptic feedback makes address verification far easier to read than a two button screen
  • EAL6+ certified secure element with fully open source firmware, the same pairing as the Safe 3
  • Multi-share (Shamir) backup, microSD slot and FIDO2 two factor support
  • A Bitcoin-only edition strips every other chain out of the firmware

What to watch

  • More than twice the price of the Safe 3 for the same security model
  • iOS is view only: no setup, sending or device management from an iPhone
  • SecurityWeek reported in August 2026 that a breach at fulfilment partner ShipMonk exposed about 14,000 customers' shipping details
  • Trezor publishes no list of countries it ships to, only a checkout drop-down

Frequently asked questions

Is Foundation Passport or Trezor Safe 5 better?

Trezor Safe 5 rates higher on our rubric: 4.4 against 4.3 for Foundation Passport. The rating follows the product rubric published on our about page; the rows above set custody, price and platforms side by side so you can check it.

Which is cheaper, Foundation Passport or Trezor Safe 5?

Trezor Safe 5, at $129 against $349, on each maker's own store price as of the review date.

Is Foundation Passport or Trezor Safe 5 bitcoin-only?

Foundation Passport is bitcoin-only; Trezor Safe 5 supports other assets too. Multi edition manages thousands of coins and tokens; a separate Bitcoin-only edition is also sold

The full reviews: Foundation Passport and Trezor Safe 5, each with its sources, and every wallet we review.

More comparisons

Every other head-to-head Foundation Passport or Trezor Safe 5 appears in.