Foundation Passport vs Ledger Nano S Plus
- Comparing
- two wallets
- Decided by
- Editorial rating
- Last reviewed
- 2026-08-26
Bitcoin-only hardware from a US company, now sold as the $349 Passport Prime: keys, two factor codes, security keys and encrypted storage in one device.
Ledger's $59 entry device: the same certified secure element as the $399 Stax, no Bluetooth, and no iPhone support at all.
No verdict
No verdict: both wallets score 4.3 out of 5 on our rubric, so the rows below decide by what you need.
- Criterion
- Editorial rating
- Foundation Passport
- 4.3
- Ledger Nano S Plus
- 4.3
Foundation Passport and Ledger Nano S Plus, fact by fact
Every row is from the two reviews as of their review dates, with sources on each. A check marks the side a decidable criterion favours; rows without one are information, not a score.
| Fact | Foundation Passport | Ledger Nano S Plus |
|---|---|---|
| Editorial rating | 4.3 | 4.3 |
| Status | Available | Available |
| Made by | Foundation Devices | Ledger |
| Price | $349 | $59 |
| Who holds the keys | self-custodial, keys held on dedicated hardware and isolated from sandboxed apps by the KeyOS microkernel | self-custodial, keys held in a CC EAL6+ certified secure element chip |
| Bitcoin-only | Yes | No |
| Runs on | iOS, Android | Android, Windows, macOS, Linux |
| Screen | Not stated | 1.1 inch monochrome OLED, 128 x 64 pixels, with two physical buttons |
| Connectivity | QuantumLink encrypted Bluetooth through a dedicated chip, plus NFC and USB for security key use; setup and updates run through the Envoy app | USB-C only, for desktop and Android use; no Bluetooth and no battery |
| Released | Not stated | 2022 |
| Countries on the maker's list | No published list | 218 |
| Last reviewed | 2026-08-26 | 2026-08-26 |
Pros and cons, side by side
Foundation Passport
What works
- Bitcoin only, with open source apps and a published independent audit quote
- KeyOS sandboxes apps so a compromised app cannot reach the master keys
- Bluetooth runs through a dedicated chip rather than the processor holding your secrets
- Envoy is distributed on F-Droid as well as the App Store and Google Play
- Assembled in the USA, which matters if supply chain provenance is part of your threat model
What to watch
- $349 is well above most bitcoin-only signers
- Passport Core, the cheaper earlier model, has been discontinued
- No reachable country list: the terms name a Shipping Policy that is not published anywhere, and Foundation may refuse an order over export or sanctions concerns
- A smaller company with a shorter public track record than Ledger, Trezor or Coinkite
Ledger Nano S Plus
What works
- Cheapest current Ledger at $59 on Ledger's own store
- Same ST33K1M5 secure element, certified to CC EAL6+, as the $399 Stax
- Far more coin app storage than the original Nano S it replaced
- No Bluetooth and no battery, so there is no radio attack surface and nothing to wear out
What to watch
- No iOS support: Ledger's system requirements list Windows, macOS, Ubuntu and Android only
- Cable only, so you cannot sign from a phone without plugging in
- The 128 x 64 pixel screen turns checking a long address into a multi step scroll
- Closed source firmware, unlike Trezor and BitBox
Frequently asked questions
Is Foundation Passport or Ledger Nano S Plus better?
No verdict: both wallets score 4.3 out of 5 on our rubric, so the rows below decide by what you need. The rating follows the product rubric published on our about page; the rows above set custody, price and platforms side by side so you can check it.
Which is cheaper, Foundation Passport or Ledger Nano S Plus?
Ledger Nano S Plus, at $59 against $349, on each maker's own store price as of the review date.
Is Foundation Passport or Ledger Nano S Plus bitcoin-only?
Foundation Passport is bitcoin-only; Ledger Nano S Plus supports other assets too. Bitcoin plus more than 500 assets in the Ledger Wallet app, and thousands more through third party wallets
The full reviews: Foundation Passport and Ledger Nano S Plus, each with its sources, and every wallet we review.
More comparisons
Every other head-to-head Foundation Passport or Ledger Nano S Plus appears in.
- BitBox02 vs Foundation Passport
- Blockstream Jade vs Foundation Passport
- Coldcard vs Foundation Passport
- Foundation Passport vs KeepKey
- Foundation Passport vs Keystone 3 Pro
- Foundation Passport vs Ledger Flex
- Foundation Passport vs Ledger Stax
- Foundation Passport vs Ledger Nano X
- Foundation Passport vs OneKey
- Foundation Passport vs SafePal S1
- Foundation Passport vs Tangem Wallet
- Foundation Passport vs Trezor Safe 3
- Foundation Passport vs Trezor Safe 5
- BitBox02 vs Ledger Nano S Plus
- Blockstream Jade vs Ledger Nano S Plus
- Coldcard vs Ledger Nano S Plus
- KeepKey vs Ledger Nano S Plus
- Keystone 3 Pro vs Ledger Nano S Plus
- Ledger Flex vs Ledger Nano S Plus
- Ledger Nano S Plus vs Ledger Stax
- Ledger Nano S Plus vs Ledger Nano X
- Ledger Nano S Plus vs OneKey
- Ledger Nano S Plus vs SafePal S1
- Ledger Nano S Plus vs Tangem Wallet
- Ledger Nano S Plus vs Trezor Safe 3
- Ledger Nano S Plus vs Trezor Safe 5
