Skip to content
buybitcoinsmart

Coldcard vs Foundation Passport

Comparing
two wallets
Decided by
Editorial rating
Last reviewed
2026-08-26
Coldcard3.4Bitcoin-onlyWarning

Bitcoin-only air-gapped signer whose seed generation was weakened by a build error from March 2021 until fixed firmware landed on July 31, 2026.

Foundation Passport4.3Bitcoin-only

Bitcoin-only hardware from a US company, now sold as the $349 Passport Prime: keys, two factor codes, security keys and encrypted storage in one device.

Verdict: Foundation Passport

Foundation Passport rates higher on our rubric: 4.3 against 3.4 for Coldcard.

Criterion
Editorial rating
Coldcard
3.4
Foundation Passport
4.3

Coldcard and Foundation Passport, fact by fact

Every row is from the two reviews as of their review dates, with sources on each. A check marks the side a decidable criterion favours; rows without one are information, not a score.

Coldcard and Foundation Passport compared fact by fact from their reviews; a check marks the side a decidable criterion favours.
FactColdcardFoundation Passport
Editorial rating3.44.3 (favoured on this row)
StatusCaution: see the reviewAvailable
Made byCoinkiteFoundation Devices
Price$189$349
Who holds the keysself-custodial, keys held behind two secure elements from different vendors, signing air-gapped by choiceself-custodial, keys held on dedicated hardware and isolated from sandboxed apps by the KeyOS microkernel
Bitcoin-onlyYesYes
Runs onWindows, macOS, LinuxiOS, Android
ScreenQ: 3.2 inch LCD with a full keyboard. Mk5: bright OLED with a numeric keypadNot stated
ConnectivityUSB-C, microSD, NFC, QR scanner on the Q and a virtual disk mode, every path off by defaultQuantumLink encrypted Bluetooth through a dedicated chip, plus NFC and USB for security key use; setup and updates run through the Envoy app
ReleasedCoinkite has made Coldcard since 2017; the Q and the Mk5 are the current modelsNot stated
Countries on the maker's listNo published listNo published list
Last reviewed2026-08-252026-08-26

Pros and cons, side by side

Coldcard

What works

  • Bitcoin only, which keeps every other chain's parsing code off the device
  • Two secure elements from independent vendors, so one chip flaw is not enough
  • Air-gapped signing over QR, microSD, NFC or virtual disk, with all data paths disabled by default
  • Reproducible open source firmware that advanced users can build and verify themselves
  • Duress PIN, brick PIN and login countdown for coercion scenarios
  • Coinkite's advisory published the technical cause, the entropy estimates and step by step migration instructions

What to watch

  • A March 2021 build error weakened seed generation for over five years, and updating the firmware does not repair an affected seed
  • Migrating means generating a new seed and moving every coin, which costs an on-chain transaction and real care
  • Coinkite publishes no loss total, so the scale rests on outside estimates from TRM Labs and Galaxy Research
  • Steeper learning curve than a Ledger or a Trezor, with no companion app of its own
  • Coinkite publishes no shipping country policy at all

Foundation Passport

What works

  • Bitcoin only, with open source apps and a published independent audit quote
  • KeyOS sandboxes apps so a compromised app cannot reach the master keys
  • Bluetooth runs through a dedicated chip rather than the processor holding your secrets
  • Envoy is distributed on F-Droid as well as the App Store and Google Play
  • Assembled in the USA, which matters if supply chain provenance is part of your threat model

What to watch

  • $349 is well above most bitcoin-only signers
  • Passport Core, the cheaper earlier model, has been discontinued
  • No reachable country list: the terms name a Shipping Policy that is not published anywhere, and Foundation may refuse an order over export or sanctions concerns
  • A smaller company with a shorter public track record than Ledger, Trezor or Coinkite

Frequently asked questions

Is Coldcard or Foundation Passport better?

Foundation Passport rates higher on our rubric: 4.3 against 3.4 for Coldcard. The rating follows the product rubric published on our about page; the rows above set custody, price and platforms side by side so you can check it.

Which is cheaper, Coldcard or Foundation Passport?

Coldcard, at $189 against $349, on each maker's own store price as of the review date.

Is Coldcard or Foundation Passport bitcoin-only?

Both are bitcoin-only: neither supports another coin, which is a deliberate design choice for a smaller codebase.

Does Coldcard or Foundation Passport carry a warning?

Coldcard: A build error introduced in a March 2021 firmware migration left seed generation drawing on a software pseudorandom number generator instead of the hardware one, and attackers found it before Coinkite did. Coinkite published fixed firmware for every affected model and updated its advisory on August 1, 2026, but updating does not repair a seed already generated on affected firmware: those owners have to create a new seed and move their coins.

The full reviews: Coldcard and Foundation Passport, each with its sources, and every wallet we review.

More comparisons

Every other head-to-head Coldcard or Foundation Passport appears in.