Skip to content
buybitcoinsmart

OneKey vs SafePal S1

Comparing
two wallets
Decided by
Editorial rating
Last reviewed
2026-08-26

Open source line from $79 to $278, including a bitcoin-only Classic 1S Pure, with apps on every desktop, phone and the browser.

Budget air-gapped signer with no USB data, WiFi, Bluetooth or NFC: every transaction crosses as a scanned QR code.

Verdict: OneKey

OneKey rates higher on our rubric: 3.7 against 3.5 for SafePal S1.

Criterion
Editorial rating
OneKey
3.7
SafePal S1
3.5

OneKey and SafePal S1, fact by fact

Every row is from the two reviews as of their review dates, with sources on each. A check marks the side a decidable criterion favours; rows without one are information, not a score.

OneKey and SafePal S1 compared fact by fact from their reviews; a check marks the side a decidable criterion favours.
FactOneKeySafePal S1
Editorial rating3.7 (favoured on this row)3.5
StatusAvailableAvailable
Made byOneKeySafePal
Price$99Not published
Who holds the keysself-custodial, keys held on the device, with firmware developed in the openself-custodial, keys held offline on a device with no USB data, WiFi, Bluetooth or NFC connection
Bitcoin-onlyNoNo
Runs oniOS, Android, Windows, macOS, Linux, Browser extensioniOS, Android
ScreenNot statedSmall color screen with a camera for reading QR codes
ConnectivityVaries by model; the companion app runs on desktop, on phones and as a browser extensionQR codes only: no USB data, WiFi, Bluetooth or NFC
ReleasedNot statedNot stated
Countries on the maker's listNo published listNo published list
Last reviewed2026-08-262026-08-25

Pros and cons, side by side

OneKey

What works

  • Four signing models from $79 to $278, including a bitcoin-only Classic 1S Pure
  • Companion app on iOS, Android, Windows, macOS, Linux and as a browser extension
  • Firmware and apps are developed in public on GitHub
  • Faulty devices are replaced rather than repaired, so no repair shop handles your hardware

What to watch

  • Not bitcoin-only outside the Classic 1S Pure bitcoin edition
  • Specifications vary widely across the range, so the brand name alone tells you little about the device you are buying
  • Researchers opened a OneKey Mini in 2023 with physical access and lab hardware, which OneKey patched but which is part of the brand's record
  • No published shipping country policy: the help center article that should carry one returns a 404
  • A shorter public track record than Ledger, Trezor or Coinkite

SafePal S1

What works

  • No USB data, WiFi, Bluetooth or NFC: the only channel in or out is a QR code on a camera
  • SafePal's budget cold storage line, positioned below the newer Bluetooth X1
  • Broad asset support with swap, buy and DeFi features for people who hold more than bitcoin
  • SafePal accepted an outside security report from Kraken Security Labs and shipped a fix

What to watch

  • Not bitcoin-only, and the companion app is a broad crypto app rather than a focused signer
  • The February 2021 Kraken disclosure showed the firmware update check could be downgraded without the user noticing
  • Verification happens on a small screen, which makes careful address checking slower
  • SafePal publishes no shipping country policy, pointing at a reseller network instead

Frequently asked questions

Is OneKey or SafePal S1 better?

OneKey rates higher on our rubric: 3.7 against 3.5 for SafePal S1. The rating follows the product rubric published on our about page; the rows above set custody, price and platforms side by side so you can check it.

Is OneKey or SafePal S1 bitcoin-only?

Neither: both support assets beyond bitcoin. OneKey: Multi-asset across the line, with a bitcoin-only Classic 1S Pure sold at the same $79 as the standard model. SafePal S1: Multi-asset: bitcoin among a long list of chains and tokens, managed through the SafePal app.

The full reviews: OneKey and SafePal S1, each with its sources, and every wallet we review.

More comparisons

Every other head-to-head OneKey or SafePal S1 appears in.