Skip to content
buybitcoinsmart

BitBox02 vs OneKey

Comparing
two wallets
Decided by
Editorial rating
Last reviewed
2026-08-26

Swiss made, fully open source, sold in Multi and Bitcoin-only editions, with a Nova model that works from an iPhone.

Open source line from $79 to $278, including a bitcoin-only Classic 1S Pure, with apps on every desktop, phone and the browser.

Verdict: BitBox02

BitBox02 rates higher on our rubric: 4.6 against 3.7 for OneKey.

Criterion
Editorial rating
BitBox02
4.6
OneKey
3.7

BitBox02 and OneKey, fact by fact

Every row is from the two reviews as of their review dates, with sources on each. A check marks the side a decidable criterion favours; rows without one are information, not a score.

BitBox02 and OneKey compared fact by fact from their reviews; a check marks the side a decidable criterion favours.
FactBitBox02OneKey
Editorial rating4.6 (favoured on this row)3.7
StatusAvailableAvailable
Made byBitBoxOneKey
PriceNot published$99
Who holds the keysself-custodial, keys held in a dual chip design, certified EAL6+ on the Nova modelself-custodial, keys held on the device, with firmware developed in the open
Bitcoin-onlyNoNo
Runs oniOS, Android, Windows, macOS, LinuxiOS, Android, Windows, macOS, Linux, Browser extension
ScreenMonochrome OLED with touch sliders; the Nova uses a more readable glass OLEDNot stated
ConnectivityUSB-C on both models; the Nova adds Bluetooth for iPhone and iPadVaries by model; the companion app runs on desktop, on phones and as a browser extension
ReleasedNot statedNot stated
Countries on the maker's listNo published listNo published list
Last reviewed2026-08-252026-08-26

Pros and cons, side by side

BitBox02

What works

  • Fully open source firmware, in a Multi edition and a true Bitcoin-only edition
  • Dual chip design, with an EAL6+ certified secure chip on the Nova
  • microSD backup makes setup and recovery fast, and writing down the words is optional
  • Three built-in on-ramps (Pocket Bitcoin, MoonPay, BTC Direct) send coins straight to the device
  • The Nova works with an iPhone or iPad over Bluetooth

What to watch

  • No touchscreen: confirmations happen on a small OLED with touch sliders
  • The original BitBox02 has no iOS support, so an iPhone user needs the Nova
  • BitBox publishes no shipping country list, only regional tiers and a duty policy
  • Shipping cost and any unpaid import duties are only shown at checkout

OneKey

What works

  • Four signing models from $79 to $278, including a bitcoin-only Classic 1S Pure
  • Companion app on iOS, Android, Windows, macOS, Linux and as a browser extension
  • Firmware and apps are developed in public on GitHub
  • Faulty devices are replaced rather than repaired, so no repair shop handles your hardware

What to watch

  • Not bitcoin-only outside the Classic 1S Pure bitcoin edition
  • Specifications vary widely across the range, so the brand name alone tells you little about the device you are buying
  • Researchers opened a OneKey Mini in 2023 with physical access and lab hardware, which OneKey patched but which is part of the brand's record
  • No published shipping country policy: the help center article that should carry one returns a 404
  • A shorter public track record than Ledger, Trezor or Coinkite

Frequently asked questions

Is BitBox02 or OneKey better?

BitBox02 rates higher on our rubric: 4.6 against 3.7 for OneKey. The rating follows the product rubric published on our about page; the rows above set custody, price and platforms side by side so you can check it.

Is BitBox02 or OneKey bitcoin-only?

Neither: both support assets beyond bitcoin. BitBox02: Multi edition supports bitcoin plus other assets; the Bitcoin-only edition runs firmware with the rest removed. OneKey: Multi-asset across the line, with a bitcoin-only Classic 1S Pure sold at the same $79 as the standard model.

The full reviews: BitBox02 and OneKey, each with its sources, and every wallet we review.

More comparisons

Every other head-to-head BitBox02 or OneKey appears in.