Skip to content
buybitcoinsmart

Foundation Passport vs Keystone 3 Pro

Comparing
two wallets
Decided by
Editorial rating
Last reviewed
2026-08-26
Foundation Passport4.3Bitcoin-only

Bitcoin-only hardware from a US company, now sold as the $349 Passport Prime: keys, two factor codes, security keys and encrypted storage in one device.

Air-gapped signing on a 4 inch touchscreen, with three security chips and a fingerprint reader, at $149.

Verdict: Keystone 3 Pro

Keystone 3 Pro rates higher on our rubric: 4.4 against 4.3 for Foundation Passport.

Criterion
Editorial rating
Foundation Passport
4.3
Keystone 3 Pro
4.4

Foundation Passport and Keystone 3 Pro, fact by fact

Every row is from the two reviews as of their review dates, with sources on each. A check marks the side a decidable criterion favours; rows without one are information, not a score.

Foundation Passport and Keystone 3 Pro compared fact by fact from their reviews; a check marks the side a decidable criterion favours.
FactFoundation PassportKeystone 3 Pro
Editorial rating4.34.4 (favoured on this row)
StatusAvailableAvailable
Made byFoundation DevicesKeystone
Price$349$149
Who holds the keysself-custodial, keys held on dedicated hardware and isolated from sandboxed apps by the KeyOS microkernelself-custodial, seed split across three independent security chips, air-gapped by QR code and microSD
Bitcoin-onlyYesNo
Runs oniOS, AndroidiOS, Android
ScreenNot stated4 inch color LCD touchscreen with fingerprint unlock
ConnectivityQuantumLink encrypted Bluetooth through a dedicated chip, plus NFC and USB for security key use; setup and updates run through the Envoy appQR codes and microSD for signing, with no USB or Bluetooth data path; WebUSB firmware updates only with air-gap mode off
ReleasedNot statedNot stated
Countries on the maker's listNo published list56
Last reviewed2026-08-262026-08-25

Pros and cons, side by side

Foundation Passport

What works

  • Bitcoin only, with open source apps and a published independent audit quote
  • KeyOS sandboxes apps so a compromised app cannot reach the master keys
  • Bluetooth runs through a dedicated chip rather than the processor holding your secrets
  • Envoy is distributed on F-Droid as well as the App Store and Google Play
  • Assembled in the USA, which matters if supply chain provenance is part of your threat model

What to watch

  • $349 is well above most bitcoin-only signers
  • Passport Core, the cheaper earlier model, has been discontinued
  • No reachable country list: the terms name a Shipping Policy that is not published anywhere, and Foundation may refuse an order over export or sanctions concerns
  • A smaller company with a shorter public track record than Ledger, Trezor or Coinkite

Keystone 3 Pro

What works

  • Three secure element chips, against one on Ledger's and Trezor's flagship devices
  • A 4 inch touchscreen that shows full transaction detail, including decoded contract data
  • Fully air-gapped: signing happens over QR codes or microSD, never USB or Bluetooth
  • Fingerprint unlock and anti-tamper protection that wipes data if the case is opened
  • Dice-roll entropy, Shamir backup and BIP-129 multisig, a standard Keystone co-authored

What to watch

  • Not bitcoin-only, so multi-chain parsing code runs on the device
  • Keystone's shipping page claims worldwide delivery and then publishes a 56 country list
  • Air-gapped signing means scanning QR codes for every transaction, which is slower than plugging in a cable
  • A newer brand with a shorter public track record than Ledger or Trezor

Frequently asked questions

Is Foundation Passport or Keystone 3 Pro better?

Keystone 3 Pro rates higher on our rubric: 4.4 against 4.3 for Foundation Passport. The rating follows the product rubric published on our about page; the rows above set custody, price and platforms side by side so you can check it.

Which is cheaper, Foundation Passport or Keystone 3 Pro?

Keystone 3 Pro, at $149 against $349, on each maker's own store price as of the review date.

Is Foundation Passport or Keystone 3 Pro bitcoin-only?

Foundation Passport is bitcoin-only; Keystone 3 Pro supports other assets too. Multi-asset: Keystone counts more than 5,000 coins and tokens and over 45 compatible software wallets

The full reviews: Foundation Passport and Keystone 3 Pro, each with its sources, and every wallet we review.

More comparisons

Every other head-to-head Foundation Passport or Keystone 3 Pro appears in.

Diese Seite auf Deutsch lesenLeer esta página en españolLire cette page en françaisLeggi questa pagina in italianoLer esta página em portuguêsЧитать эту страницу на русскомBu sayfayı Türkçe okuyun