Skip to content
buybitcoinsmart

Blockstream Jade vs Foundation Passport

Comparing
two wallets
Decided by
Editorial rating
Last reviewed
2026-08-26
Blockstream Jade4.3Bitcoin-only

Bitcoin-only line from $79 to $149 that ships no secure element on purpose: a locked Jade holds nothing worth extracting.

Foundation Passport4.3Bitcoin-only

Bitcoin-only hardware from a US company, now sold as the $349 Passport Prime: keys, two factor codes, security keys and encrypted storage in one device.

No verdict

No verdict: both wallets score 4.3 out of 5 on our rubric, so the rows below decide by what you need.

Criterion
Editorial rating
Blockstream Jade
4.3
Foundation Passport
4.3

Blockstream Jade and Foundation Passport, fact by fact

Every row is from the two reviews as of their review dates, with sources on each. A check marks the side a decidable criterion favours; rows without one are information, not a score.

Blockstream Jade and Foundation Passport compared fact by fact from their reviews; a check marks the side a decidable criterion favours.
FactBlockstream JadeFoundation Passport
Editorial rating4.34.3
StatusAvailableAvailable
Made byBlockstreamFoundation Devices
Price$99$349
Who holds the keysself-custodial, keys protected by Blockstream's open source blind oracle rather than a secure element chipself-custodial, keys held on dedicated hardware and isolated from sandboxed apps by the KeyOS microkernel
Bitcoin-onlyYesYes
Runs oniOS, Android, Windows, macOS, LinuxiOS, Android
Screen1.9 inch color LCD, 320 x 170 pixelsNot stated
ConnectivityUSB-C and Bluetooth on all three models; Jade Plus adds an SD card slot and camera-based QR signingQuantumLink encrypted Bluetooth through a dedicated chip, plus NFC and USB for security key use; setup and updates run through the Envoy app
Released2021 for the original Jade; Core and Plus arrived with the June 2, 2026 lineup refreshNot stated
Countries on the maker's listNo published listNo published list
Last reviewed2026-08-252026-08-26

Pros and cons, side by side

Blockstream Jade

What works

  • Bitcoin only, with both firmware and hardware published as open source
  • Three tiers from $79 to $149 sharing one firmware and one security model
  • Genuine Check attestation lets you verify the device was actually made by Blockstream
  • Jade Plus signs fully air-gapped over QR codes and reads an SD card
  • Blockstream fixed the DARKNAVY report in three weeks and published a full public disclosure

What to watch

  • No certified secure element, which is a deliberate tradeoff but still a difference from Ledger, Trezor and BitBox
  • Firmware 1.0.24 through 1.0.36 carried a stack overflow that a compromised host could use to crash the device, and 1.0.35 and earlier could allow limited code execution
  • Jade Core has no camera, so air-gapped QR signing needs the Plus
  • Free international shipping is advertised with no country list behind it, and you may owe import fees

Foundation Passport

What works

  • Bitcoin only, with open source apps and a published independent audit quote
  • KeyOS sandboxes apps so a compromised app cannot reach the master keys
  • Bluetooth runs through a dedicated chip rather than the processor holding your secrets
  • Envoy is distributed on F-Droid as well as the App Store and Google Play
  • Assembled in the USA, which matters if supply chain provenance is part of your threat model

What to watch

  • $349 is well above most bitcoin-only signers
  • Passport Core, the cheaper earlier model, has been discontinued
  • No reachable country list: the terms name a Shipping Policy that is not published anywhere, and Foundation may refuse an order over export or sanctions concerns
  • A smaller company with a shorter public track record than Ledger, Trezor or Coinkite

Frequently asked questions

Is Blockstream Jade or Foundation Passport better?

No verdict: both wallets score 4.3 out of 5 on our rubric, so the rows below decide by what you need. The rating follows the product rubric published on our about page; the rows above set custody, price and platforms side by side so you can check it.

Which is cheaper, Blockstream Jade or Foundation Passport?

Blockstream Jade, at $99 against $349, on each maker's own store price as of the review date.

Is Blockstream Jade or Foundation Passport bitcoin-only?

Both are bitcoin-only: neither supports another coin, which is a deliberate design choice for a smaller codebase.

The full reviews: Blockstream Jade and Foundation Passport, each with its sources, and every wallet we review.

More comparisons

Every other head-to-head Blockstream Jade or Foundation Passport appears in.