OneKey vs Trezor Safe 5
- Comparing
- two wallets
- Decided by
- Editorial rating
- Last reviewed
- 2026-08-26
Open source line from $79 to $278, including a bitcoin-only Classic 1S Pure, with apps on every desktop, phone and the browser.
Trezor's touchscreen model at $129: a color display and haptic feedback over the same secure element the $59 Safe 3 uses.
Verdict: Trezor Safe 5
Trezor Safe 5 rates higher on our rubric: 4.4 against 3.7 for OneKey.
- Criterion
- Editorial rating
- OneKey
- 3.7
- Trezor Safe 5
- 4.4
OneKey and Trezor Safe 5, fact by fact
Every row is from the two reviews as of their review dates, with sources on each. A check marks the side a decidable criterion favours; rows without one are information, not a score.
| Fact | OneKey | Trezor Safe 5 |
|---|---|---|
| Editorial rating | 3.7 | 4.4 (favoured on this row) |
| Status | Available | Available |
| Made by | OneKey | Trezor |
| Price | $99 | $129 |
| Who holds the keys | self-custodial, keys held on the device, with firmware developed in the open | self-custodial, keys held in an EAL6+ certified secure element running open source firmware |
| Bitcoin-only | No | No |
| Runs on | iOS, Android, Windows, macOS, Linux, Browser extension | Android, Windows, macOS, Linux |
| Screen | Not stated | 1.54 inch color touchscreen, 240 x 240 pixels, Gorilla Glass 3, with haptic feedback |
| Connectivity | Varies by model; the companion app runs on desktop, on phones and as a browser extension | USB-C and a microSD slot; Trezor Suite on Windows, macOS, Linux and Android, view only on iOS |
| Released | Not stated | 2024 |
| Countries on the maker's list | No published list | No published list |
| Last reviewed | 2026-08-26 | 2026-08-25 |
Pros and cons, side by side
OneKey
What works
- Four signing models from $79 to $278, including a bitcoin-only Classic 1S Pure
- Companion app on iOS, Android, Windows, macOS, Linux and as a browser extension
- Firmware and apps are developed in public on GitHub
- Faulty devices are replaced rather than repaired, so no repair shop handles your hardware
What to watch
- Not bitcoin-only outside the Classic 1S Pure bitcoin edition
- Specifications vary widely across the range, so the brand name alone tells you little about the device you are buying
- Researchers opened a OneKey Mini in 2023 with physical access and lab hardware, which OneKey patched but which is part of the brand's record
- No published shipping country policy: the help center article that should carry one returns a 404
- A shorter public track record than Ledger, Trezor or Coinkite
Trezor Safe 5
What works
- Color touchscreen with haptic feedback makes address verification far easier to read than a two button screen
- EAL6+ certified secure element with fully open source firmware, the same pairing as the Safe 3
- Multi-share (Shamir) backup, microSD slot and FIDO2 two factor support
- A Bitcoin-only edition strips every other chain out of the firmware
What to watch
- More than twice the price of the Safe 3 for the same security model
- iOS is view only: no setup, sending or device management from an iPhone
- SecurityWeek reported in August 2026 that a breach at fulfilment partner ShipMonk exposed about 14,000 customers' shipping details
- Trezor publishes no list of countries it ships to, only a checkout drop-down
Frequently asked questions
Is OneKey or Trezor Safe 5 better?
Trezor Safe 5 rates higher on our rubric: 4.4 against 3.7 for OneKey. The rating follows the product rubric published on our about page; the rows above set custody, price and platforms side by side so you can check it.
Which is cheaper, OneKey or Trezor Safe 5?
OneKey, at $99 against $129, on each maker's own store price as of the review date.
Is OneKey or Trezor Safe 5 bitcoin-only?
Neither: both support assets beyond bitcoin. OneKey: Multi-asset across the line, with a bitcoin-only Classic 1S Pure sold at the same $79 as the standard model. Trezor Safe 5: Multi edition manages thousands of coins and tokens; a separate Bitcoin-only edition is also sold.
The full reviews: OneKey and Trezor Safe 5, each with its sources, and every wallet we review.
More comparisons
Every other head-to-head OneKey or Trezor Safe 5 appears in.
- BitBox02 vs OneKey
- Blockstream Jade vs OneKey
- Coldcard vs OneKey
- Foundation Passport vs OneKey
- KeepKey vs OneKey
- Keystone 3 Pro vs OneKey
- Ledger Flex vs OneKey
- Ledger Nano S Plus vs OneKey
- Ledger Stax vs OneKey
- Ledger Nano X vs OneKey
- OneKey vs SafePal S1
- OneKey vs Tangem Wallet
- OneKey vs Trezor Safe 3
- BitBox02 vs Trezor Safe 5
- Blockstream Jade vs Trezor Safe 5
- Coldcard vs Trezor Safe 5
- Foundation Passport vs Trezor Safe 5
- KeepKey vs Trezor Safe 5
- Keystone 3 Pro vs Trezor Safe 5
- Ledger Flex vs Trezor Safe 5
- Ledger Nano S Plus vs Trezor Safe 5
- Ledger Stax vs Trezor Safe 5
- Ledger Nano X vs Trezor Safe 5
- SafePal S1 vs Trezor Safe 5
- Tangem Wallet vs Trezor Safe 5
- Trezor Safe 3 vs Trezor Safe 5
