KeepKey vs OneKey
- Comparing
- two wallets
- Decided by
- Editorial rating
- Last reviewed
- 2026-08-26
Cheap open source device with the most readable screen of its era, and a seed a thief holding it for 15 minutes can extract.
Open source line from $79 to $278, including a bitcoin-only Classic 1S Pure, with apps on every desktop, phone and the browser.
Verdict: OneKey
OneKey rates higher on our rubric: 3.7 against 2.6 for KeepKey.
- Criterion
- Editorial rating
- KeepKey
- 2.6
- OneKey
- 3.7
KeepKey and OneKey, fact by fact
Every row is from the two reviews as of their review dates, with sources on each. A check marks the side a decidable criterion favours; rows without one are information, not a score.
| Fact | KeepKey | OneKey |
|---|---|---|
| Editorial rating | 2.6 | 3.7 (favoured on this row) |
| Status | Caution: see the review | Available |
| Made by | KeepKey | OneKey |
| Price | $59.95 | $99 |
| Who holds the keys | self-custodial, keys generated and held on the device rather than on your computer | self-custodial, keys held on the device, with firmware developed in the open |
| Bitcoin-only | No | No |
| Runs on | Windows, macOS, Linux | iOS, Android, Windows, macOS, Linux, Browser extension |
| Screen | 3.12 inch OLED, 256 x 64 pixels | Not stated |
| Connectivity | USB cable | Varies by model; the companion app runs on desktop, on phones and as a browser extension |
| Released | 2015, though KeepKey's own site dates the brand to 2014 | Not stated |
| Countries on the maker's list | No published list | No published list |
| Last reviewed | 2026-08-26 | 2026-08-26 |
Pros and cons, side by side
KeepKey
What works
- The 3.12 inch OLED screen was the largest of its era and makes address checks easy to read
- Firmware is still shipping: Taproot outputs in 2025, four more chains in 2026, on signed tags
- Each release publishes the expected hash of a reproducible build, so you can verify the binary you flash
- Schematics, PCB layout and bill of materials are published, and the chip is named: no other major vendor goes that far
- One of the cheapest new hardware wallets at $59.95, with simple, sturdy, beginner-friendly hardware
What to watch
- The seed can be extracted with 15 minutes of physical access, and Kraken found that no firmware update can close it
- No secure element, which KeepKey presents as a design choice rather than a gap, so the seed lives in flash on a general purpose chip
- The PIN is 1 to 9 digits, so once the encrypted seed is off the device it is trivial to brute force
- The store advertises free firmware updates for life without linking the release history that backs the promise up
- Releases are infrequent by the standards of the field: none at all between March 2024 and February 2025
OneKey
What works
- Four signing models from $79 to $278, including a bitcoin-only Classic 1S Pure
- Companion app on iOS, Android, Windows, macOS, Linux and as a browser extension
- Firmware and apps are developed in public on GitHub
- Faulty devices are replaced rather than repaired, so no repair shop handles your hardware
What to watch
- Not bitcoin-only outside the Classic 1S Pure bitcoin edition
- Specifications vary widely across the range, so the brand name alone tells you little about the device you are buying
- Researchers opened a OneKey Mini in 2023 with physical access and lab hardware, which OneKey patched but which is part of the brand's record
- No published shipping country policy: the help center article that should carry one returns a 404
- A shorter public track record than Ledger, Trezor or Coinkite
Frequently asked questions
Is KeepKey or OneKey better?
OneKey rates higher on our rubric: 3.7 against 2.6 for KeepKey. The rating follows the product rubric published on our about page; the rows above set custody, price and platforms side by side so you can check it.
Which is cheaper, KeepKey or OneKey?
KeepKey, at $59.95 against $99, on each maker's own store price as of the review date.
Is KeepKey or OneKey bitcoin-only?
Neither: both support assets beyond bitcoin. KeepKey: 11 native chains plus EVM tokens by the vendor's own count, with THORChain swaps in the app. OneKey: Multi-asset across the line, with a bitcoin-only Classic 1S Pure sold at the same $79 as the standard model.
Does KeepKey or OneKey carry a warning?
KeepKey: Kraken Security Labs published a voltage glitching attack in 2019 that lifts the encrypted seed off a KeepKey with about 15 minutes of physical access and roughly 75 dollars of equipment, then brute forces the short PIN that protects it. Kraken's own conclusion was that the weakness sits in the device's microcontroller and cannot be closed by firmware. The firmware itself is still shipping; the hardware is the problem, and a BIP39 passphrase is the mitigation.
The full reviews: KeepKey and OneKey, each with its sources, and every wallet we review.
More comparisons
Every other head-to-head KeepKey or OneKey appears in.
- BitBox02 vs KeepKey
- Blockstream Jade vs KeepKey
- Coldcard vs KeepKey
- Foundation Passport vs KeepKey
- KeepKey vs Keystone 3 Pro
- KeepKey vs Ledger Flex
- KeepKey vs Ledger Nano S Plus
- KeepKey vs Ledger Stax
- KeepKey vs Ledger Nano X
- KeepKey vs SafePal S1
- KeepKey vs Tangem Wallet
- KeepKey vs Trezor Safe 3
- KeepKey vs Trezor Safe 5
- BitBox02 vs OneKey
- Blockstream Jade vs OneKey
- Coldcard vs OneKey
- Foundation Passport vs OneKey
- Keystone 3 Pro vs OneKey
- Ledger Flex vs OneKey
- Ledger Nano S Plus vs OneKey
- Ledger Stax vs OneKey
- Ledger Nano X vs OneKey
- OneKey vs SafePal S1
- OneKey vs Tangem Wallet
- OneKey vs Trezor Safe 3
- OneKey vs Trezor Safe 5

