Skip to content
buybitcoinsmart

Ledger Flex vs OneKey

Comparing
two wallets
Decided by
Editorial rating
Last reviewed
2026-08-26

The Ledger to buy if you want a touchscreen: $249, the same certified chip as the Stax, and more screen pixels than it.

Open source line from $79 to $278, including a bitcoin-only Classic 1S Pure, with apps on every desktop, phone and the browser.

Verdict: Ledger Flex

Ledger Flex rates higher on our rubric: 4.0 against 3.7 for OneKey.

Criterion
Editorial rating
Ledger Flex
4.0
OneKey
3.7

Ledger Flex and OneKey, fact by fact

Every row is from the two reviews as of their review dates, with sources on each. A check marks the side a decidable criterion favours; rows without one are information, not a score.

Ledger Flex and OneKey compared fact by fact from their reviews; a check marks the side a decidable criterion favours.
FactLedger FlexOneKey
Editorial rating4.0 (favoured on this row)3.7
StatusAvailableAvailable
Made byLedgerOneKey
Price$249$99
Who holds the keysself-custodial, keys held in a CC EAL6+ certified secure element chipself-custodial, keys held on the device, with firmware developed in the open
Bitcoin-onlyNoNo
Runs oniOS, Android, Windows, macOS, LinuxiOS, Android, Windows, macOS, Linux, Browser extension
Screen2.8 inch flat E Ink touchscreen, 16 grayscale, 480 x 600 pixels, Gorilla Glass with an anti-glare coatingNot stated
ConnectivityUSB-C, Bluetooth and NFC, for iOS, Android and desktop computersVaries by model; the companion app runs on desktop, on phones and as a browser extension
ReleasedJuly 2024Not stated
Countries on the maker's list218No published list
Last reviewed2026-08-262026-08-26

Pros and cons, side by side

Ledger Flex

What works

  • A 2.8 inch E Ink touchscreen at 480 x 600 pixels, more pixels than the larger and dearer Stax screen
  • Same ST33K1M5 secure element, certified to CC EAL6+, as the $399 Stax
  • USB-C, Bluetooth and NFC, so it works with an iPhone as well as a desktop
  • A Ledger Recovery Key is included in the box, so your seed backup is not only on paper

What to watch

  • $249 is more than four times the $59 Nano S Plus for the same certified secure element
  • Closed source firmware, unlike Trezor and BitBox
  • Plastic body with a Gorilla Glass front, where the Stax uses aluminum with stacking magnets

OneKey

What works

  • Four signing models from $79 to $278, including a bitcoin-only Classic 1S Pure
  • Companion app on iOS, Android, Windows, macOS, Linux and as a browser extension
  • Firmware and apps are developed in public on GitHub
  • Faulty devices are replaced rather than repaired, so no repair shop handles your hardware

What to watch

  • Not bitcoin-only outside the Classic 1S Pure bitcoin edition
  • Specifications vary widely across the range, so the brand name alone tells you little about the device you are buying
  • Researchers opened a OneKey Mini in 2023 with physical access and lab hardware, which OneKey patched but which is part of the brand's record
  • No published shipping country policy: the help center article that should carry one returns a 404
  • A shorter public track record than Ledger, Trezor or Coinkite

Frequently asked questions

Is Ledger Flex or OneKey better?

Ledger Flex rates higher on our rubric: 4.0 against 3.7 for OneKey. The rating follows the product rubric published on our about page; the rows above set custody, price and platforms side by side so you can check it.

Which is cheaper, Ledger Flex or OneKey?

OneKey, at $99 against $249, on each maker's own store price as of the review date.

Is Ledger Flex or OneKey bitcoin-only?

Neither: both support assets beyond bitcoin. Ledger Flex: Bitcoin plus more than 500 assets in the Ledger Wallet app, and thousands more through third party wallets. OneKey: Multi-asset across the line, with a bitcoin-only Classic 1S Pure sold at the same $79 as the standard model.

The full reviews: Ledger Flex and OneKey, each with its sources, and every wallet we review.

More comparisons

Every other head-to-head Ledger Flex or OneKey appears in.