Foundation Passport vs Ledger Flex
- Comparing
- two wallets
- Decided by
- Editorial rating
- Last reviewed
- 2026-08-26
Bitcoin-only hardware from a US company, now sold as the $349 Passport Prime: keys, two factor codes, security keys and encrypted storage in one device.
The Ledger to buy if you want a touchscreen: $249, the same certified chip as the Stax, and more screen pixels than it.
Verdict: Foundation Passport
Foundation Passport rates higher on our rubric: 4.3 against 4.0 for Ledger Flex.
- Criterion
- Editorial rating
- Foundation Passport
- 4.3
- Ledger Flex
- 4.0
Foundation Passport and Ledger Flex, fact by fact
Every row is from the two reviews as of their review dates, with sources on each. A check marks the side a decidable criterion favours; rows without one are information, not a score.
| Fact | Foundation Passport | Ledger Flex |
|---|---|---|
| Editorial rating | 4.3 (favoured on this row) | 4.0 |
| Status | Available | Available |
| Made by | Foundation Devices | Ledger |
| Price | $349 | $249 |
| Who holds the keys | self-custodial, keys held on dedicated hardware and isolated from sandboxed apps by the KeyOS microkernel | self-custodial, keys held in a CC EAL6+ certified secure element chip |
| Bitcoin-only | Yes | No |
| Runs on | iOS, Android | iOS, Android, Windows, macOS, Linux |
| Screen | Not stated | 2.8 inch flat E Ink touchscreen, 16 grayscale, 480 x 600 pixels, Gorilla Glass with an anti-glare coating |
| Connectivity | QuantumLink encrypted Bluetooth through a dedicated chip, plus NFC and USB for security key use; setup and updates run through the Envoy app | USB-C, Bluetooth and NFC, for iOS, Android and desktop computers |
| Released | Not stated | July 2024 |
| Countries on the maker's list | No published list | 218 |
| Last reviewed | 2026-08-26 | 2026-08-26 |
Pros and cons, side by side
Foundation Passport
What works
- Bitcoin only, with open source apps and a published independent audit quote
- KeyOS sandboxes apps so a compromised app cannot reach the master keys
- Bluetooth runs through a dedicated chip rather than the processor holding your secrets
- Envoy is distributed on F-Droid as well as the App Store and Google Play
- Assembled in the USA, which matters if supply chain provenance is part of your threat model
What to watch
- $349 is well above most bitcoin-only signers
- Passport Core, the cheaper earlier model, has been discontinued
- No reachable country list: the terms name a Shipping Policy that is not published anywhere, and Foundation may refuse an order over export or sanctions concerns
- A smaller company with a shorter public track record than Ledger, Trezor or Coinkite
Ledger Flex
What works
- A 2.8 inch E Ink touchscreen at 480 x 600 pixels, more pixels than the larger and dearer Stax screen
- Same ST33K1M5 secure element, certified to CC EAL6+, as the $399 Stax
- USB-C, Bluetooth and NFC, so it works with an iPhone as well as a desktop
- A Ledger Recovery Key is included in the box, so your seed backup is not only on paper
What to watch
- $249 is more than four times the $59 Nano S Plus for the same certified secure element
- Closed source firmware, unlike Trezor and BitBox
- Plastic body with a Gorilla Glass front, where the Stax uses aluminum with stacking magnets
Frequently asked questions
Is Foundation Passport or Ledger Flex better?
Foundation Passport rates higher on our rubric: 4.3 against 4.0 for Ledger Flex. The rating follows the product rubric published on our about page; the rows above set custody, price and platforms side by side so you can check it.
Which is cheaper, Foundation Passport or Ledger Flex?
Ledger Flex, at $249 against $349, on each maker's own store price as of the review date.
Is Foundation Passport or Ledger Flex bitcoin-only?
Foundation Passport is bitcoin-only; Ledger Flex supports other assets too. Bitcoin plus more than 500 assets in the Ledger Wallet app, and thousands more through third party wallets
The full reviews: Foundation Passport and Ledger Flex, each with its sources, and every wallet we review.
More comparisons
Every other head-to-head Foundation Passport or Ledger Flex appears in.
- BitBox02 vs Foundation Passport
- Blockstream Jade vs Foundation Passport
- Coldcard vs Foundation Passport
- Foundation Passport vs KeepKey
- Foundation Passport vs Keystone 3 Pro
- Foundation Passport vs Ledger Nano S Plus
- Foundation Passport vs Ledger Stax
- Foundation Passport vs Ledger Nano X
- Foundation Passport vs OneKey
- Foundation Passport vs SafePal S1
- Foundation Passport vs Tangem Wallet
- Foundation Passport vs Trezor Safe 3
- Foundation Passport vs Trezor Safe 5
- BitBox02 vs Ledger Flex
- Blockstream Jade vs Ledger Flex
- Coldcard vs Ledger Flex
- KeepKey vs Ledger Flex
- Keystone 3 Pro vs Ledger Flex
- Ledger Flex vs Ledger Nano S Plus
- Ledger Flex vs Ledger Stax
- Ledger Flex vs Ledger Nano X
- Ledger Flex vs OneKey
- Ledger Flex vs SafePal S1
- Ledger Flex vs Tangem Wallet
- Ledger Flex vs Trezor Safe 3
- Ledger Flex vs Trezor Safe 5
