Skip to content
buybitcoinsmart

Keystone 3 Pro vs SafePal S1

Comparing
two wallets
Decided by
Editorial rating
Last reviewed
2026-08-25

Air-gapped signing on a 4 inch touchscreen, with three security chips and a fingerprint reader, at $149.

Budget air-gapped signer with no USB data, WiFi, Bluetooth or NFC: every transaction crosses as a scanned QR code.

Verdict: Keystone 3 Pro

Keystone 3 Pro rates higher on our rubric: 4.4 against 3.5 for SafePal S1.

Criterion
Editorial rating
Keystone 3 Pro
4.4
SafePal S1
3.5

Keystone 3 Pro and SafePal S1, fact by fact

Every row is from the two reviews as of their review dates, with sources on each. A check marks the side a decidable criterion favours; rows without one are information, not a score.

Keystone 3 Pro and SafePal S1 compared fact by fact from their reviews; a check marks the side a decidable criterion favours.
FactKeystone 3 ProSafePal S1
Editorial rating4.4 (favoured on this row)3.5
StatusAvailableAvailable
Made byKeystoneSafePal
Price$149Not published
Who holds the keysself-custodial, seed split across three independent security chips, air-gapped by QR code and microSDself-custodial, keys held offline on a device with no USB data, WiFi, Bluetooth or NFC connection
Bitcoin-onlyNoNo
Runs oniOS, AndroidiOS, Android
Screen4 inch color LCD touchscreen with fingerprint unlockSmall color screen with a camera for reading QR codes
ConnectivityQR codes and microSD for signing, with no USB or Bluetooth data path; WebUSB firmware updates only with air-gap mode offQR codes only: no USB data, WiFi, Bluetooth or NFC
ReleasedNot statedNot stated
Countries on the maker's list56No published list
Last reviewed2026-08-252026-08-25

Pros and cons, side by side

Keystone 3 Pro

What works

  • Three secure element chips, against one on Ledger's and Trezor's flagship devices
  • A 4 inch touchscreen that shows full transaction detail, including decoded contract data
  • Fully air-gapped: signing happens over QR codes or microSD, never USB or Bluetooth
  • Fingerprint unlock and anti-tamper protection that wipes data if the case is opened
  • Dice-roll entropy, Shamir backup and BIP-129 multisig, a standard Keystone co-authored

What to watch

  • Not bitcoin-only, so multi-chain parsing code runs on the device
  • Keystone's shipping page claims worldwide delivery and then publishes a 56 country list
  • Air-gapped signing means scanning QR codes for every transaction, which is slower than plugging in a cable
  • A newer brand with a shorter public track record than Ledger or Trezor

SafePal S1

What works

  • No USB data, WiFi, Bluetooth or NFC: the only channel in or out is a QR code on a camera
  • SafePal's budget cold storage line, positioned below the newer Bluetooth X1
  • Broad asset support with swap, buy and DeFi features for people who hold more than bitcoin
  • SafePal accepted an outside security report from Kraken Security Labs and shipped a fix

What to watch

  • Not bitcoin-only, and the companion app is a broad crypto app rather than a focused signer
  • The February 2021 Kraken disclosure showed the firmware update check could be downgraded without the user noticing
  • Verification happens on a small screen, which makes careful address checking slower
  • SafePal publishes no shipping country policy, pointing at a reseller network instead

Frequently asked questions

Is Keystone 3 Pro or SafePal S1 better?

Keystone 3 Pro rates higher on our rubric: 4.4 against 3.5 for SafePal S1. The rating follows the product rubric published on our about page; the rows above set custody, price and platforms side by side so you can check it.

Is Keystone 3 Pro or SafePal S1 bitcoin-only?

Neither: both support assets beyond bitcoin. Keystone 3 Pro: Multi-asset: Keystone counts more than 5,000 coins and tokens and over 45 compatible software wallets. SafePal S1: Multi-asset: bitcoin among a long list of chains and tokens, managed through the SafePal app.

The full reviews: Keystone 3 Pro and SafePal S1, each with its sources, and every wallet we review.

More comparisons

Every other head-to-head Keystone 3 Pro or SafePal S1 appears in.

Diese Seite auf Deutsch lesenLeer esta página en españolLire cette page en françaisLeggi questa pagina in italianoLer esta página em portuguêsЧитать эту страницу на русскомBu sayfayı Türkçe okuyun