Hardware bitcoin wallets: 15 reviewed
- Top rated
- BitBox02 4.6
- Price
- $59 to $399
- Bitcoin-only
- 3 of 15
- With a warning
- 2
- Last reviewed
- 2026-08-26
BitBox02 is the highest-rated of the 15 hardware wallets we review, at 4.6 out of 5. 3 of the 15 are bitcoin-only, 2 carry a warning, and 3 more are no longer sold. Ratings follow the product rubric on our about page, and the order below is by rating with unrated wallets last. Every fact here is on the linked review, with its sources.
The 15 hardware wallets, ranked by rating
Highest editorial rating first. A warning pill means the review carries a dated status note worth reading before you trust the wallet with money.
- 1
Swiss made, fully open source, sold in Multi and Bitcoin-only editions, with a Nova model that works from an iPhone.
- Keys
- self-custodial, keys held in a dual chip design, certified EAL6+ on the Nova model
- Runs on
- iOS, Android, Windows, macOS, Linux
- 2
Trezor's $59 entry device, pairing a certified secure element with fully open source firmware and two physical buttons.
- Keys
- self-custodial, keys held in an EAL6+ certified secure element running open source firmware
- Runs on
- Android, Windows, macOS, Linux
- 3
Air-gapped signing on a 4 inch touchscreen, with three security chips and a fingerprint reader, at $149.
- Keys
- self-custodial, seed split across three independent security chips, air-gapped by QR code and microSD
- Runs on
- iOS, Android
- 4
Trezor's touchscreen model at $129: a color display and haptic feedback over the same secure element the $59 Safe 3 uses.
- Keys
- self-custodial, keys held in an EAL6+ certified secure element running open source firmware
- Runs on
- Android, Windows, macOS, Linux
- 5
Bitcoin-only line from $79 to $149 that ships no secure element on purpose: a locked Jade holds nothing worth extracting.
- Keys
- self-custodial, keys protected by Blockstream's open source blind oracle rather than a secure element chip
- Runs on
- iOS, Android, Windows, macOS, Linux
- 6
Bitcoin-only hardware from a US company, now sold as the $349 Passport Prime: keys, two factor codes, security keys and encrypted storage in one device.
- Keys
- self-custodial, keys held on dedicated hardware and isolated from sandboxed apps by the KeyOS microkernel
- Runs on
- iOS, Android
- 7
Ledger's $59 entry device: the same certified secure element as the $399 Stax, no Bluetooth, and no iPhone support at all.
- Keys
- self-custodial, keys held in a CC EAL6+ certified secure element chip
- Runs on
- Android, Windows, macOS, Linux
- 8
The Ledger to buy if you want a touchscreen: $249, the same certified chip as the Stax, and more screen pixels than it.
- Keys
- self-custodial, keys held in a CC EAL6+ certified secure element chip
- Runs on
- iOS, Android, Windows, macOS, Linux
- 9
The cheapest Ledger with Bluetooth, now $79 on Ledger's own store, and the one to buy if you want to sign from a phone.
- Keys
- self-custodial, keys held in a CC EAL5+ certified secure element chip
- Runs on
- iOS, Android, Windows, macOS, Linux
- 10
A smart card you tap against your phone, sold only in sets of two or three so your backup is another card rather than a written seed.
- Keys
- self-custodial, keys generated and held inside each card's certified chip, with no seed phrase by default
- Runs on
- iOS, Android
- 11
Open source line from $79 to $278, including a bitcoin-only Classic 1S Pure, with apps on every desktop, phone and the browser.
- Keys
- self-custodial, keys held on the device, with firmware developed in the open
- Runs on
- iOS, Android, Windows, macOS, Linux, Browser extension
- 12
Ledger's $399 flagship, with the biggest screen it sells and exactly the same secure element as the $59 Nano S Plus.
- Keys
- self-custodial, keys held in a CC EAL6+ certified secure element chip
- Runs on
- iOS, Android, Windows, macOS, Linux
- 13
Budget air-gapped signer with no USB data, WiFi, Bluetooth or NFC: every transaction crosses as a scanned QR code.
- Keys
- self-custodial, keys held offline on a device with no USB data, WiFi, Bluetooth or NFC connection
- Runs on
- iOS, Android
- 14
Bitcoin-only air-gapped signer whose seed generation was weakened by a build error from March 2021 until fixed firmware landed on July 31, 2026.
- Keys
- self-custodial, keys held behind two secure elements from different vendors, signing air-gapped by choice
- Runs on
- Windows, macOS, Linux
- 15
Cheap open source device with the most readable screen of its era, and a seed a thief holding it for 15 minutes can extract.
- Keys
- self-custodial, keys generated and held on the device rather than on your computer
- Runs on
- Windows, macOS, Linux
Side by side
The same 15 hardware wallets plus the 3 no longer sold, sortable by any column. Price is blank for software because a download has no price to publish.
| Review | ||||||
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| BitBox02 | Hardware | You | No | Available | Not stated | Review |
| Blockstream Jade | Hardware | You | Yes | Available | $99 | Review |
| Coldcard | Hardware | You | Yes | Caution | $189 | Review |
| Foundation Passport | Hardware | You | Yes | Available | $349 | Review |
| KeepKey | Hardware | You | No | Caution | $59.95 | Review |
| Keystone 3 Pro | Hardware | You | No | Available | $149 | Review |
| Ledger Flex | Hardware | You | No | Available | $249 | Review |
| Ledger Nano S | Hardware | You | No | No longer sold | Not stated | Review |
| Ledger Nano S Plus | Hardware | You | No | Available | $59 | Review |
| Ledger Nano X | Hardware | You | No | Available | $79 | Review |
| Ledger Stax | Hardware | You | No | Available | $399 | Review |
| OneKey | Hardware | You | No | Available | $99 | Review |
| SafePal S1 | Hardware | You | No | Available | Not stated | Review |
| Tangem Wallet | Hardware | You | No | Available | $59.9 | Review |
| Trezor Model One | Hardware | You | No | No longer sold | Not stated | Review |
| Trezor Model T | Hardware | You | No | No longer sold | Not stated | Review |
| Trezor Safe 3 | Hardware | You | No | Available | $59 | Review |
| Trezor Safe 5 | Hardware | You | No | Available | $129 | Review |
Hardware bitcoin wallets that are no longer sold
Kept for anyone still searching for them. Each page says what happened, with dates, and names something that still works.
Narrow it down
The other hubs, with how many of these 15 each one also holds.
Frequently asked questions
Which is the best hardware bitcoin wallet?
BitBox02, rated 4.6 out of 5, the highest score among the 15 hardware wallets we review on the product rubric published on our about page. Custody: self-custodial, keys held in a dual chip design, certified EAL6+ on the Nova model. Trezor Safe 3 is next at 4.5.
Are there bitcoin-only hardware wallets?
Yes: Blockstream Jade, Foundation Passport and Coldcard, which support no other coin. A smaller codebase and no altcoin features is a deliberate design choice, and the bitcoin-only hub compares every wallet that makes it.
How much does a hardware wallet cost?
From $59 to $399 among the 13 of 15 that publish a price on their own store, as of each review's date. The cheapest and the dearest are both on this page with what the difference buys.
Which hardware wallets carry a warning?
Coldcard: A build error introduced in a March 2021 firmware migration left seed generation drawing on a software pseudorandom number generator instead of the hardware one, and attackers found it before Coinkite did. KeepKey: Kraken Security Labs published a voltage glitching attack in 2019 that lifts the encrypted seed off a KeepKey with about 15 minutes of physical access and roughly 75 dollars of equipment, then brute forces the short PIN that protects it. Each review carries the full note with sources.
Which hardware wallets are no longer available?
Ledger Nano S (replaced by the Ledger Nano S Plus), Trezor Model One (replaced by the Trezor Safe 3), Trezor Model T (replaced by the Trezor Safe 5). Their pages say what happened, with dates, and name wallets that still work.
Every wallet we review compares the whole roster, hardware and software, with what each status means.






