Crypto License in Monaco (2026)
The full guide for this jurisdiction is being researched
Read this before you plan an application
Yes. A business providing covered digital-asset or crypto-asset services in Monaco generally needs prior agrement, or authorisation. The main framework is Loi n. 1.528 of 7 July 2022. The Minister of State grants most approvals, while the Commission de Controle des Activites Financieres grants approvals for specified services involving financial tokens. Monaco is not an EU or EEA member, so MiCA does not apply directly.
Key facts
- Regime
- Licensing regime
- Regulator
- Minister of State, with the Commission de Controle des Activites Financieres (CCAF) for financial-token services
- Framework
- Loi n. 1.528 du 7 juillet 2022 portant modification de diverses dispositions en matiere de numerique et reglementation des activites des prestataires de services sur actifs numeriques ou sur crypto-actifs (2022)
- Time to license
- The statutory decision deadline is not stated in Loi n. 1.528. Article 15 delegates the deadline to Ordonnance Souveraine, and silence after that period counts as rejection. Observed processing practice was not reported in the primary sources checked.
- Foreign owners
- The applicant must be a Monaco-registered company, but Article 17 does not state that shareholders, directors or controlling persons must be Monaco residents or nationals. Their competence, repute and control status are assessed.
License classes in Monaco
| Class | Covers | Fee | Capital |
|---|---|---|---|
| Minister of State agrement | Digital-asset exchange, trading-platform operation, exchange for legal tender, and crypto-asset services other than the specified financial-token services | Not published in Loi n. 1.528 or the sources checked | Own-funds amount not published in the statute; to be fixed by Ordonnance Souveraine |
| CCAF financial-token approval | Placement, order execution, reception and transmission of orders, and advice concerning crypto-assets that are financial tokens | Not published in the sources checked | Own-funds amount not published in Loi n. 1.528; further requirements arise under Loi n. 1.338 |
What the application requires
- A Monaco-registered company, or a company in formation in Monaco, is the applicant
- Directors and managers must be competent and of good repute
- Persons holding more than 25 percent or otherwise controlling the company must be competent and of good repute
- Compliance with anti-money-laundering, counter-terrorist-financing, anti-corruption and sanctions-screening obligations
- Professional civil-liability insurance
- Own funds, with the amount set by Ordonnance Souveraine
- Suitable premises, equipment and staff
- Adequate security and internal-control arrangements
- Resilient and secure information systems
- Arrangements for identifying and managing conflicts of interest
- Continuing compliance with the conditions the approval was granted on
The application process
Form the applicant
Use a Monaco-registered company, or apply through a company in formation in Monaco
Classify the services
Identify each service under Articles 12 and 13 and establish whether financial tokens move the application onto the CCAF route
Build the application file
The dossier must carry the information required by Ordonnance Souveraine; no public application form was located
File with the competent authority
The consultative commission first rules on admissibility, then examines a complete dossier
Regulatory review
The commission takes anti-money-laundering and information-security input from the relevant Monaco authorities
Decision
The Minister of State or the CCAF issues the approval for the applicable service category
Publication and ongoing conditions
Approved providers and their services are published; material changes need the approval to be modified first
Costs and taxation
The checked statute and public CCAF materials do not publish an application fee, an annual supervision fee, or a class-specific fee. The statute delegates own-funds amounts and application details to Ordonnance Souveraine.
A company carrying out commercial or industrial activity with more than 25 percent of turnover outside Monaco is generally subject to corporate income tax at 25 percent for financial years beginning on or after 1 January 2022. A genuinely new qualifying business may receive two years without tax followed by graduated relief.
Who is licensed today
Article 14 requires a Government publication of providers and their authorised services, and Article 20 requires a CCAF publication for financial-token services. The CCAF list dated 30 June 2026 covers general financial firms and does not identify a dedicated crypto-provider category, so no crypto-specific count can be read from it. See the official register.
Planning a license application in Monaco?
Tell us what you are building and where you want to operate, and we will point you at the right starting documents and, where we know one, a consultant or law firm with real experience in that jurisdiction. The pointer costs nothing; we may earn a referral fee if you engage a provider we introduce.
Frequently asked questions
Do I need a crypto licence in Monaco?
Yes. Covered professional services need prior agrement under Loi n. 1.528 of 7 July 2022, and operating without one carries criminal penalties.
Who grants a Monaco crypto authorisation?
The Minister of State grants most approvals. The Commission de Controle des Activites Financieres handles specified services involving financial tokens.
Does a Monaco licence cover crypto custody?
Yes. Custody or administration of crypto-assets and of the credentials that access them is listed as a crypto-asset service in the law.
What is the minimum capital for a Monaco crypto company?
Loi n. 1.528 requires own funds but does not set the amount, which it delegates to Ordonnance Souveraine. No figure was found in the sources checked.
Does MiCA apply in Monaco?
No. Monaco is outside the EU and the EEA, so the EU crypto regulation does not apply and a Monaco approval cannot be passported into the EU.
Is there a public register of licensed crypto firms in Monaco?
The law requires approved providers to be published, but the CCAF list dated 30 June 2026 covers general financial firms with no dedicated crypto category.
Sources
- Legimonaco: consolidated text of Loi n. 1.528 du 7 juillet 2022
- Journal de Monaco n. 8600: promulgation of Loi n. 1.528
- Legimonaco: Loi n. 1.491 du 23 juin 2020 on token offerings
- Conseil National: digital legislation archive
- CCAF: list of approved companies and establishments
- CCAF: list of approved companies as at 30 June 2026 (PDF)
- Monaco Government: corporate income tax
- 99 Avocats: note on Loi n. 1.528
Buying bitcoin as an individual is a different question entirely: how to buy bitcoin in Monaco covers exchanges, payment methods and legality for residents, and the crypto license hub compares every jurisdiction we track.
Crypto licenses in other jurisdictions
Crypto License in Australia (2026)AUSTRAC registration today, ASIC licensing from April 2027
Crypto License in the Bahamas (2026)Registration with the Securities Commission under the DARE Act 2024
Crypto License in Barbados (2026)No crypto license exists yet; FSC VASP framework in consultation
Crypto License in Bosnia and Herzegovina (2026)In researchRepublika Srpska keeps a register; the Federation and Brcko have none
Crypto License in Cape Verde (2026)In researchAML registration with the Banco de Cabo Verde (Lei 30/X/2023), no licence or fee stated
Crypto License in the Cayman Islands (2026)CIMA registration or licence; custody and platforms need the licence
Crypto License in Croatia (2026)MiCA authorization from HANFA, mandatory since 1 July 2026
Crypto License in the Czech Republic (2026)MiCA authorization from the CNB, 11 granted from 251 assessed
Crypto License in Ecuador (2026)No crypto license exists; crypto is not an authorized means of payment
Crypto License in El Salvador (2026)CNAD digital asset provider registration, fees set in minimum salaries
Crypto License in Estonia (2026)MiCA authorization from Finantsinspektsioon, replacing the FIU licence
Crypto License in Finland (2026)In researchMiCA CASP authorisation from the FIN-FSA, EUR 8,700 fee, transition ended 30 June 2025
Crypto License in Georgia (2026)NBG registration, and a free zone company is not exempt
Crypto License in Gibraltar (2026)GFSC DLT provider authorisation, running since 2018
Crypto License in Hong Kong (2026)SFC platform licence; 13 hold one and several have withdrawn
Crypto License in Latvia (2026)MiCA authorization from Latvijas Banka, the first crypto regime
Crypto License in Lithuania (2026)MiCA authorization from the Bank of Lithuania after a hard cutoff
Crypto License in Montenegro (2026)In researchAML-law register entry with the Capital Market Authority, EUR 5,000 fee, no licence
Crypto License in Norway (2026)In researchMiCA CASP authorisation from Finanstilsynet via the EEA, transition ended 30 June 2026
Crypto License in Panama (2026)No crypto license exists; the bills that would create one keep stalling
Crypto License in Poland (2026)MiCA applies, but no CASP authorisation is obtainable
Crypto License in Serbia (2026)Dual licensing: NBS for virtual currencies, SEC Serbia for tokens
Crypto License in the Seychelles (2026)FSA licenses four VASP categories under the 2024 Act
Crypto License in Singapore (2026)MAS payment institution licence; 37 hold one for crypto
Crypto License in Slovakia (2026)MiCA CASP authorization from the National Bank of Slovakia
Crypto License in Slovenia (2026)EU MiCA: ATVP authorizes CASPs, Banka Slovenije e-money tokens
Crypto License in Spain (2026)In researchMiCA CASP authorisation from the CNMV; the 18-month transition ended 1 July 2026
Crypto License in St. Lucia (2026)FSRA licensing under the Virtual Asset Business Act, No. 24 of 2022
Crypto License in St. Vincent and the Grenadines (2026)FSA registration mandatory since 31 May 2025 (Virtual Asset Business Act)
Crypto License in Switzerland (2026)No crypto licence exists; four other routes do, depending on scale
Crypto License in the United Arab Emirates (2026)Five regulators; which one applies depends on where you set up
Crypto License in the United Kingdom (2026)MLR registration today, FSMA authorisation from October 2027
Crypto License in Uzbekistan (2026)NAPP licenses four crypto activities, mining only registers