Crypto License in Cape Verde (2026)
The full guide for this jurisdiction is being researched
Read this before you plan an application
Cape Verde has no crypto licence. Lei n.o 30/X/2023 of 21 June 2023, published in Boletim Oficial No. 68, I Serie, makes anyone carrying on virtual-asset activities in Cape Verde subject to the anti-money-laundering law, names the Banco de Cabo Verde as the competent authority, and requires registration with the central bank before starting. The Banco de Cabo Verde put a draft notice to public consultation on 19 January 2024 and issued Aviso n.o 2/2024 on 24 May 2024, published in Boletim Oficial No. 94, II Serie, 1st Supplement, on 28 May 2024, in force sixty days after publication. The notice sets the register's contents, the application file, a decision within 90 days of a complete file and never later than six months from filing, and refusal, lapse and cancellation grounds. Neither the law nor the notice states a fee or a minimum capital; the file must prove the share capital is held and where it came from.
Key facts
- Regime
- Registration regime
- Regulator
- Banco de Cabo Verde (BCV)
- Framework
- Lei n.o 30/X/2023, de 21 de junho, regulating the provision of services with virtual assets and the establishment of digital banks, with BCV Aviso n.o 2/2024 (2023)
- Application fee
- Not stated in Lei 30/X/2023 or Aviso 2/2024, the two texts read for this draft
- Minimum capital
- None stated. Aviso 2/2024 Article 3(5)(g) asks for proof that the share capital is held and of the origin of the funds, without setting an amount
- Time to license
- Aviso 2/2024 Article 3(9): the Banco de Cabo Verde notifies its decision on an initial registration within 90 days of receiving the file or the further information it requested, and never later than six months after the initial filing; silence past those deadlines counts as tacit refusal (Article 3(11)). Changes to registered elements are decided within 30 days and at most two months.
- Foreign owners
- Aviso 2/2024 Article 1(3) treats as operating in Cape Verde a company formed there for virtual-asset activities, any person or company with a domicile or permanent establishment there devoted to them, and anyone who must declare the start of that activity to the tax authority. Nothing in the law or the notice bars foreign ownership; shareholders, beneficial owners and directors are identified and assessed for fitness and repute under Lei 62/VIII/2014, and foreign documents must be apostilled and translated into Portuguese (Article 9).
License classes in Cape Verde
| Class | Covers | Fee | Capital |
|---|---|---|---|
| Registration for virtual-asset activities | Exchange between virtual assets and fiat currency (including operating a trading platform and a virtual-currency ATM), exchange between virtual assets, transfer of virtual assets between addresses or wallets, custody or custody and administration of virtual assets or of the instruments that control them including private keys, and participation in and financial services for an issuer's offer or sale of virtual assets (Aviso 2/2024 Article 2(b)) | Not stated | None stated; proof of share capital and origin of funds required |
What the application requires
- Prior registration with the Banco de Cabo Verde before starting, even where the applicant already holds another authorisation (Lei 30/X/2023 Article 3; Aviso 2/2024 Article 3(1))
- Fitness and repute of shareholders, beneficial owners, board and supervisory members and senior managers, assessed under Lei 62/VIII/2014 and BCV Aviso 1/2024 as a condition of granting and keeping the registration
- Draft articles of association naming the virtual-asset activities, and the address of the seat and central administration
- A programme of activities and business plan: geographic footprint, organisation and human, technical and IT resources with a detailed description of the IT architecture, projected volumes for the first three years, and the planned start date
- A description of internal controls for preventing money laundering and terrorist financing, with a risk assessment of the projected client base, products, channels and geographies and the mitigating measures
- Proof that the share capital is held and of the origin of the funds used to subscribe it
- Application on the Banco de Cabo Verde's Annex I form with the Annex II declaration from each director and senior manager, in Portuguese, with foreign documents apostilled or legalised and translated
- Notification of the actual start of activity within 30 days, and of any change to registered elements within 30 days; registration lapses if activity does not start within six months
- Ongoing anti-money-laundering duties under Lei 38/VII/2009 as amended and BCV Aviso 5/2017, including identification of originator and beneficiary on virtual-asset transfers
The application process
Determine which virtual-asset activities you will register for
The five activities in Aviso 2/2024 Article 2(b); widening the list later, or serving a higher-risk jurisdiction, means repeating the initial registration procedure (Article 5(3))
Incorporate the Cape Verdean company
The file opens with draft articles of association that name the virtual-asset activities, and the registration covers the firm's seat and central administration (Article 3(4) and (5))
Build the application file
Business plan with IT architecture and three-year volumes, anti-money-laundering controls and risk assessment, identity and fitness evidence for owners and managers under Aviso 1/2024, and proof of share capital and origin of funds
File with the Banco de Cabo Verde
The Annex I form and Annex II declarations, completed in Portuguese, sent on a durable digital medium to the Departamento de Supervisao Microprudencial (Article 7); a file that ignores the formalities is treated as not sent (Article 10)
Assessment and decision
The central bank may request further information and make enquiries; it decides within 90 days of the complete file and never later than six months from filing, refusing where the file is incomplete, inaccurate, fails an access requirement or shows a serious risk of anti-money-laundering non-compliance (Articles 3(9) and 8)
Register entry and start of activity
The firm notifies its actual start date within 30 days; the registration lapses if it has not started within six months and can be cancelled for false statements, loss of requirements or six months of negligible activity (Articles 5(5) and 8)
Costs and taxation
Neither Lei 30/X/2023 nor Aviso 2/2024 states an application fee, an annual fee or a minimum capital. The file has to prove the share capital is held and where the funds came from (Article 3(5)(g)), and every document not issued by a Cape Verdean authority must be apostilled or legalised and, if not in Portuguese, accompanied by a certified and apostilled translation (Article 9), so translation and legalisation are the costs a founder can predict.
The general corporate income tax (IRPC) rate is 20 percent from 1 January 2026, reduced from 21 percent by the 2026 State Budget law, Lei n.o 69/X/2025 of 31 December, as summarised by PwC Portugal.
Who is licensed today
Registration is the Banco de Cabo Verde's own register under Lei 30/X/2023 Article 3, holding the firm's name, seat, activities, jurisdictions served, shareholders, beneficial owners and managers (Aviso 2/2024 Article 3(4)). No public list of registered virtual-asset entities was found on bcv.cv or in the Boletim Oficial for this draft, and the Banco de Cabo Verde's warning of 8 October 2025 about the unauthorised firm Optcoin states that it holds no registration of any kind with the central bank.
Planning a license application in Cape Verde?
Tell us what you are building and where you want to operate, and we will point you at the right starting documents and, where we know one, a consultant or law firm with real experience in that jurisdiction. The pointer costs nothing; we may earn a referral fee if you engage a provider we introduce.
Frequently asked questions
Do I need a licence to run a crypto exchange in Cape Verde?
No licence exists. Lei 30/X/2023 requires anyone exchanging, transferring or holding virtual assets for clients in Cape Verde to register with the Banco de Cabo Verde before starting, as an anti-money-laundering obligation, and Aviso 2/2024 sets out the application. Registration is not an authorisation or a supervisory licence.
Who regulates crypto in Cape Verde?
The Banco de Cabo Verde. Lei 30/X/2023 names it the competent authority for checking that virtual-asset businesses meet their anti-money-laundering and counter-terrorist-financing duties, and it keeps the register those businesses must join before operating.
How much does registration cost in Cape Verde?
Neither Lei 30/X/2023 nor Aviso 2/2024 states an application fee, an annual fee or a minimum capital. The file must prove the share capital is held and where the funds came from, and every foreign document must be apostilled and translated into Portuguese, which is where the predictable cost sits.
How long does the Banco de Cabo Verde take to register a virtual-asset business?
Aviso 2/2024 gives it 90 days from a complete file, and never more than six months from the initial filing, to notify its decision; if no decision arrives within those deadlines the application counts as refused.
Is there a public list of registered crypto companies in Cape Verde?
None was found on the Banco de Cabo Verde's website or in the Boletim Oficial for this draft. The register exists under Lei 30/X/2023 Article 3, and the central bank publishes warnings about unregistered firms, such as its 8 October 2025 notice on Optcoin.
Does MiCA apply in Cape Verde?
No. Cape Verde is not in the EU or the EEA. Its framework is the 2023 law and the central bank's 2024 registration notice, which follow FATF Recommendation 15 on virtual assets rather than the EU regulation, and a Cape Verdean registration cannot be passported anywhere.
Sources
- Banco de Cabo Verde: Aviso n.o 2/2024 regulating the registration of entities carrying on virtual-asset activities (PDF, Boletim Oficial No. 94, II Serie, 1st Supplement, 28 May 2024)
- Imprensa Nacional de Cabo Verde: Boletim Oficial No. 94, II Serie, 1st Supplement, 28 May 2024, Aviso n.o 02/2024
- Banco de Cabo Verde: Boletim Oficial of 21 June 2023 carrying Lei n.o 30/X/2023 (PDF)
- Imprensa Nacional de Cabo Verde: Boletim Oficial No. 68, I Serie, 21 June 2023, Lei n.o 30/X/2023
- Banco de Cabo Verde, 7 June 2024: communique on the publication of Aviso n.o 2/2024
- Banco de Cabo Verde, 19 January 2024: public consultation on the draft registration notice
- Banco de Cabo Verde: Aviso n.o 1/2024 on fitness criteria for key function holders, applicable to virtual-asset entities (PDF)
- Banco de Cabo Verde, 8 October 2025: warning on the unauthorised entity Optcoin
- VPQ Advogados, 26 June 2023: legal alert on Lei n.o 30/X/2023, in force 22 June 2023 (PDF)
- PwC Portugal: Cabo Verde State Budget for 2026, general IRPC rate reduced to 20 percent
Buying bitcoin as an individual is a different question entirely: how to buy bitcoin in Cape Verde covers exchanges, payment methods and legality for residents, and the crypto license hub compares every jurisdiction we track.
Crypto licenses in other jurisdictions
Crypto License in Australia (2026)AUSTRAC registration today, ASIC licensing from April 2027
Crypto License in the Bahamas (2026)Registration with the Securities Commission under the DARE Act 2024
Crypto License in Barbados (2026)No crypto license exists yet; FSC VASP framework in consultation
Crypto License in Bosnia and Herzegovina (2026)In researchRepublika Srpska keeps a register; the Federation and Brcko have none
Crypto License in the Cayman Islands (2026)CIMA registration or licence; custody and platforms need the licence
Crypto License in Croatia (2026)MiCA authorization from HANFA, mandatory since 1 July 2026
Crypto License in the Czech Republic (2026)MiCA authorization from the CNB, 11 granted from 251 assessed
Crypto License in Ecuador (2026)No crypto license exists; crypto is not an authorized means of payment
Crypto License in El Salvador (2026)CNAD digital asset provider registration, fees set in minimum salaries
Crypto License in Estonia (2026)MiCA authorization from Finantsinspektsioon, replacing the FIU licence
Crypto License in Finland (2026)In researchMiCA CASP authorisation from the FIN-FSA, EUR 8,700 fee, transition ended 30 June 2025
Crypto License in Georgia (2026)NBG registration, and a free zone company is not exempt
Crypto License in Gibraltar (2026)GFSC DLT provider authorisation, running since 2018
Crypto License in Hong Kong (2026)SFC platform licence; 13 hold one and several have withdrawn
Crypto License in Latvia (2026)MiCA authorization from Latvijas Banka, the first crypto regime
Crypto License in Lithuania (2026)MiCA authorization from the Bank of Lithuania after a hard cutoff
Crypto License in Monaco (2026)In researchPrior agrement from the Minister of State, or the CCAF for financial tokens
Crypto License in Montenegro (2026)In researchAML-law register entry with the Capital Market Authority, EUR 5,000 fee, no licence
Crypto License in Norway (2026)In researchMiCA CASP authorisation from Finanstilsynet via the EEA, transition ended 30 June 2026
Crypto License in Panama (2026)No crypto license exists; the bills that would create one keep stalling
Crypto License in Poland (2026)MiCA applies, but no CASP authorisation is obtainable
Crypto License in Serbia (2026)Dual licensing: NBS for virtual currencies, SEC Serbia for tokens
Crypto License in the Seychelles (2026)FSA licenses four VASP categories under the 2024 Act
Crypto License in Singapore (2026)MAS payment institution licence; 37 hold one for crypto
Crypto License in Slovakia (2026)MiCA CASP authorization from the National Bank of Slovakia
Crypto License in Slovenia (2026)EU MiCA: ATVP authorizes CASPs, Banka Slovenije e-money tokens
Crypto License in Spain (2026)In researchMiCA CASP authorisation from the CNMV; the 18-month transition ended 1 July 2026
Crypto License in St. Lucia (2026)FSRA licensing under the Virtual Asset Business Act, No. 24 of 2022
Crypto License in St. Vincent and the Grenadines (2026)FSA registration mandatory since 31 May 2025 (Virtual Asset Business Act)
Crypto License in Switzerland (2026)No crypto licence exists; four other routes do, depending on scale
Crypto License in the United Arab Emirates (2026)Five regulators; which one applies depends on where you set up
Crypto License in the United Kingdom (2026)MLR registration today, FSMA authorisation from October 2027
Crypto License in Uzbekistan (2026)NAPP licenses four crypto activities, mining only registers