Crypto License in Bosnia and Herzegovina (2026)
The full guide for this jurisdiction is being researched
Read this before you plan an application
Bosnia and Herzegovina has no single crypto law. Only Republika Srpska runs a registration regime for virtual currency service providers, under its securities market law, and an entry there has no effect elsewhere in the country. The Federation of Bosnia and Herzegovina and Brcko District have no licensing or registration regime for these providers at all. The 2024 state anti-money-laundering law reaches providers everywhere in the country without licensing any of them.
Key facts
- Regime
- Registration regime
- Regulator
- Komisija za hartije od vrijednosti Republike Srpske, the Securities Commission of Republika Srpska, which acts for that entity only
- Framework
- Zakon o izmjenama i dopunama Zakona o trzistu hartija od vrijednosti (Republika Srpska) (2022)
- Application fee
- Not stated in the Republika Srpska securities market law or in the rulebook on the register, the two texts read for this draft
- Minimum capital
- None stated. No minimum capital for a virtual currency service provider was found in the securities market law or the rulebook
- Time to license
- A provider must notify the Commission within 30 days of establishment and be entered in the register before it may offer services. Providers already operating when the rulebook took effect had until the end of January 2023 to apply. No statutory deadline for the Commission's own decision was found in the texts read for this draft.
- Foreign owners
- The Republika Srpska securities market law does not limit participation to residents, and Article 6 admits an issuer established outside Republika Srpska under conditions. No residency requirement for a registrant or its directors was found in the texts read for this draft, and the absence of one was not exhaustively confirmed.
License classes in Bosnia and Herzegovina
| Class | Covers | Fee | Capital |
|---|---|---|---|
| Virtual currency service provider, a single undifferentiated entry | Custody or wallet services, operating a trading platform, exchange between virtual currency and fiat, exchange between virtual currencies, transferring virtual currency for third parties, and taking part in the offer or sale of virtual currency | Not stated in the texts read for this draft | Not stated in the texts read for this draft |
What the application requires
- A company or entrepreneur registered under Republika Srpska law
- Notification to the Commission within 30 days of establishment
- A description of the internal anti-money-laundering and counter-terrorist-financing controls
- The court decision on company registration
- The company statute
- Proof of identity of the responsible persons
- A bank confirmation of a dedicated business account for virtual currency purchase and sale
- Segregation of client funds from the provider's own assets, as the rulebook requires
The application process
Incorporate in Republika Srpska
Register the company or the entrepreneur activity with the Republika Srpska court registry before applying to the Commission
Open a dedicated bank account
Obtain a bank confirmation that the special-purpose account is used only for virtual currency purchase and sale and is segregated from the firm's own assets
Assemble the file
Gather the court registration decision, the company statute, identity documents and the bank confirmation the rulebook lists
Notify and request entry
File the notification of intended virtual currency services together with the request for entry in the register, within 30 days of establishment
Wait for the entry
The Commission reviews the request, and the provider may not offer virtual currency services until it is entered
Keep the conditions
Maintain the client risk disclosures and the anti-money-laundering controls described at notification
Costs and taxation
Neither the Republika Srpska securities market law nor the rulebook on the register states an application fee, an annual fee or a minimum capital. Licensing consultancies quote figures of a few hundred euros for a Bosnian crypto licence. No such figure appears in any primary text read for this draft, and what those pages call a licence is an entry in an evidence register.
Corporate profit tax is 10 percent in the Federation of Bosnia and Herzegovina, in Republika Srpska and in Brcko District, per the Foreign Investment Promotion Agency's tax summary. No special digital asset regime was found in any primary source read for this draft.
Who is licensed today
The Republika Srpska register of virtual currency service providers carried two entries when it was read on 6 September 2026: EPUVV-1/23, Digital Asset Menagment d.o.o. Banja Luka, which trades as BCX, and EPUVV-4/23, Crypto Trading Management Servis d.o.o. Istocno Novo Sarajevo. The misspelling of the first name is the register's own. Neither the Federation of Bosnia and Herzegovina nor Brcko District keeps an equivalent register. See the official register.
Planning a license application in Bosnia and Herzegovina?
Tell us what you are building and where you want to operate, and we will point you at the right starting documents and, where we know one, a consultant or law firm with real experience in that jurisdiction. The pointer costs nothing; we may earn a referral fee if you engage a provider we introduce.
Frequently asked questions
Is the Republika Srpska entry a licence?
No. It is entry in an evidence register kept by the Commission on notification, not a discretionary licence grant, which is how the Commission itself describes it.
Does a Republika Srpska registration work in the Federation?
No source read for this draft gives it any effect there. The Federation of Bosnia and Herzegovina has its own securities regulator and no crypto statute, so a Republika Srpska entry is not a permission to operate in the Federation.
How many firms are on the Republika Srpska register?
Two, read from the Commission's own register page on 6 September 2026: Digital Asset Menagment d.o.o. Banja Luka (EPUVV-1/23) and Crypto Trading Management Servis d.o.o. Istocno Novo Sarajevo (EPUVV-4/23).
Does the Federation of Bosnia and Herzegovina regulate crypto?
It has no crypto statute. Its Securities Commission has warned that buying digital assets from unauthorised sources sits outside its supervision, and the 2024 state anti-money-laundering law applies to providers there regardless.
What about Brcko District?
Brcko District adopted a new securities market law on 4 March 2026 that opens space for virtual currency in a capital markets context, but no registration regime for virtual currency service providers exists there.
Sources
- Securities Commission of Republika Srpska: home page and the virtual currency notice
- Securities Commission of Republika Srpska: register of virtual currency service providers
- Paragraf Lex BA: consolidated text of the Republika Srpska securities market law
- Paragraf Lex BA: the rulebook on the register of virtual currency service providers, Sl. glasnik RS 4/2023
- Official Gazette of BiH: state anti-money-laundering law, Sl. glasnik BiH 13/24
- Securities Commission of the Federation of Bosnia and Herzegovina: home page and investor warning
- Tacno.net: why the Federation has still not recognised cryptocurrency in law
- Foreign Investment Promotion Agency of BiH: taxes
- IA Law Firm: Brcko District adopts a securities market law that opens space for crypto assets
- Official Gazette of BiH: Competition Council decision on Raiffeisen Bank BiH and a crypto trading client
Buying bitcoin as an individual is a different question entirely: how to buy bitcoin in Bosnia and Herzegovina covers exchanges, payment methods and legality for residents, and the crypto license hub compares every jurisdiction we track.
Crypto licenses in other jurisdictions
Crypto License in Australia (2026)AUSTRAC registration today, ASIC licensing from April 2027
Crypto License in the Bahamas (2026)Registration with the Securities Commission under the DARE Act 2024
Crypto License in Barbados (2026)No crypto license exists yet; FSC VASP framework in consultation
Crypto License in Cape Verde (2026)In researchAML registration with the Banco de Cabo Verde (Lei 30/X/2023), no licence or fee stated
Crypto License in the Cayman Islands (2026)CIMA registration or licence; custody and platforms need the licence
Crypto License in Croatia (2026)MiCA authorization from HANFA, mandatory since 1 July 2026
Crypto License in the Czech Republic (2026)MiCA authorization from the CNB, 11 granted from 251 assessed
Crypto License in Ecuador (2026)No crypto license exists; crypto is not an authorized means of payment
Crypto License in El Salvador (2026)CNAD digital asset provider registration, fees set in minimum salaries
Crypto License in Estonia (2026)MiCA authorization from Finantsinspektsioon, replacing the FIU licence
Crypto License in Finland (2026)In researchMiCA CASP authorisation from the FIN-FSA, EUR 8,700 fee, transition ended 30 June 2025
Crypto License in Georgia (2026)NBG registration, and a free zone company is not exempt
Crypto License in Gibraltar (2026)GFSC DLT provider authorisation, running since 2018
Crypto License in Hong Kong (2026)SFC platform licence; 13 hold one and several have withdrawn
Crypto License in Latvia (2026)MiCA authorization from Latvijas Banka, the first crypto regime
Crypto License in Lithuania (2026)MiCA authorization from the Bank of Lithuania after a hard cutoff
Crypto License in Monaco (2026)In researchPrior agrement from the Minister of State, or the CCAF for financial tokens
Crypto License in Montenegro (2026)In researchAML-law register entry with the Capital Market Authority, EUR 5,000 fee, no licence
Crypto License in Norway (2026)In researchMiCA CASP authorisation from Finanstilsynet via the EEA, transition ended 30 June 2026
Crypto License in Panama (2026)No crypto license exists; the bills that would create one keep stalling
Crypto License in Poland (2026)MiCA applies, but no CASP authorisation is obtainable
Crypto License in Serbia (2026)Dual licensing: NBS for virtual currencies, SEC Serbia for tokens
Crypto License in the Seychelles (2026)FSA licenses four VASP categories under the 2024 Act
Crypto License in Singapore (2026)MAS payment institution licence; 37 hold one for crypto
Crypto License in Slovakia (2026)MiCA CASP authorization from the National Bank of Slovakia
Crypto License in Slovenia (2026)EU MiCA: ATVP authorizes CASPs, Banka Slovenije e-money tokens
Crypto License in Spain (2026)In researchMiCA CASP authorisation from the CNMV; the 18-month transition ended 1 July 2026
Crypto License in St. Lucia (2026)FSRA licensing under the Virtual Asset Business Act, No. 24 of 2022
Crypto License in St. Vincent and the Grenadines (2026)FSA registration mandatory since 31 May 2025 (Virtual Asset Business Act)
Crypto License in Switzerland (2026)No crypto licence exists; four other routes do, depending on scale
Crypto License in the United Arab Emirates (2026)Five regulators; which one applies depends on where you set up
Crypto License in the United Kingdom (2026)MLR registration today, FSMA authorisation from October 2027
Crypto License in Uzbekistan (2026)NAPP licenses four crypto activities, mining only registers