Skip to content
buybitcoinsmart

Mycelium vs Phoenix

Comparing
two wallets
Decided by
Editorial rating
Last reviewed
2026-08-26

One of the oldest bitcoin wallets still shipping, strong on Android with deep UTXO control, and an iPhone build nobody has verified.

Phoenix4.0Bitcoin-only

A real Lightning node on your phone from the team behind Eclair, with a published fee table and a privacy tradeoff ACINQ states outright.

Verdict: Phoenix

Phoenix rates higher on our rubric: 4.0 against 3.7 for Mycelium.

Criterion
Editorial rating
Mycelium
3.7
Phoenix
4.0

Mycelium and Phoenix, fact by fact

Every row is from the two reviews as of their review dates, with sources on each. A check marks the side a decidable criterion favours; rows without one are information, not a score.

Mycelium and Phoenix compared fact by fact from their reviews; a check marks the side a decidable criterion favours.
FactMyceliumPhoenix
Editorial rating3.74.0 (favoured on this row)
StatusAvailableAvailable
Made byMyceliumACINQ
PriceFree downloadFree download
Who holds the keysself-custodial, keys generated and held on the phone, recoverable only from a backup you write downself-custodial, a real Lightning node running on your phone behind a 12 word seed
Bitcoin-onlyNoYes
Runs oniOS, AndroidiOS, Android
ScreenNot statedNot stated
ConnectivityOptional Tor, connection to your own Bitcoin node, NFC, and hardware wallet support for Trezor, Ledger and KeepKeyLightning only, connecting to ACINQ's nodes, with the option to watch the chain through your own Electrum server
ReleasedAndroid on July 1, 2013 and iPhone on December 17, 2014, per WalletScrutinyDecember 2019, alongside ACINQ's Eclair node implementation
Countries on the maker's listNo published listNo published list
Last reviewed2026-08-252026-08-26

Pros and cons, side by side

Mycelium

What works

  • Shipping on Android since July 1, 2013, one of the longest unbroken runs of any mobile bitcoin wallet
  • Real UTXO control on a phone: unspent output visibility, fee bumping, watch-only and single-address savings accounts
  • Passed all seven of WalletScrutiny's wallet tests, including public source code and an unobfuscated binary
  • Hardware wallet support for Trezor, Ledger and KeepKey, plus spending directly from paper wallets
  • Direct APK download, an Obtainium link and a published signing certificate, so Google Play is not the only way in
  • Optional Tor and your own node, with each third-party service able to be turned off on its own

What to watch

  • The iPhone app trails badly: WalletScrutiny lists 3.22.0.2 for Android against 2.10 for iPhone
  • Mycelium's iOS source repository on GitHub is archived, with no commits since June 2024
  • WalletScrutiny says no iOS build has ever been reproduced, so the reproducibility claim covers Android and not iPhone
  • WalletScrutiny discloses that its own authors have contributed to Mycelium, so its verdict is not fully independent
  • No longer bitcoin only: Ethereum and ERC-20 accounts add code a bitcoin-only wallet does not carry
  • Dated interface, and support runs through a single email address with no live channel

Phoenix

What works

  • A real self-custodial Lightning node on the phone, not an account on somebody's server
  • Fees published as a table on ACINQ's own site: 0.4% plus 4 sat to send, free to receive when you have liquidity
  • Standard BIP39 seed on a BIP84 path, recoverable in Electrum if ACINQ ever disappeared
  • Built by ACINQ, which develops the Eclair implementation and runs a large routing node
  • Rotating taproot receive addresses, with swaps that look like ordinary transactions on chain

What to watch

  • ACINQ's own FAQ says Phoenix offers no privacy advantage over a custodial wallet and that ACINQ knows the destination and amount of payments
  • Receiving without enough inbound liquidity costs 1% plus mining fees, and a new channel costs 1,000 sat
  • No on-chain balance, which makes it a spending wallet rather than somewhere to park savings
  • Recovering from a force close takes roughly 720 blocks, about five days
  • Wake-up notifications rely on Google services, so GrapheneOS users need the sandboxed Play Services app
  • Was off US app stores from May 3, 2024 until some point in 2025, which is why some reviews still call it unavailable there

Frequently asked questions

Is Mycelium or Phoenix better?

Phoenix rates higher on our rubric: 4.0 against 3.7 for Mycelium. The rating follows the product rubric published on our about page; the rows above set custody, price and platforms side by side so you can check it.

Are Mycelium and Phoenix free?

Yes, both are free to download. What differs is who holds the keys: Mycelium is self-custodial, keys generated and held on the phone, recoverable only from a backup you write down; Phoenix is self-custodial, a real Lightning node running on your phone behind a 12 word seed.

Is Mycelium or Phoenix bitcoin-only?

Phoenix is bitcoin-only; Mycelium supports other assets too. Bitcoin first, with Ethereum and ERC-20 accounts in the same app

The full reviews: Mycelium and Phoenix, each with its sources, and every wallet we review.

More comparisons

Every other head-to-head Mycelium or Phoenix appears in.