Phoenix vs Sparrow Wallet
- Comparing
- two wallets
- Decided by
- Editorial rating
- Last reviewed
- 2026-08-26
A real Lightning node on your phone from the team behind Eclair, with a published fee table and a privacy tradeoff ACINQ states outright.
The desktop wallet to coordinate hardware signers and multisig from, with a verification tool that also checks other projects' releases.
Verdict: Sparrow Wallet
Sparrow Wallet rates higher on our rubric: 4.7 against 4.0 for Phoenix.
- Criterion
- Editorial rating
- Phoenix
- 4.0
- Sparrow Wallet
- 4.7
Phoenix and Sparrow Wallet, fact by fact
Every row is from the two reviews as of their review dates, with sources on each. A check marks the side a decidable criterion favours; rows without one are information, not a score.
| Fact | Phoenix | Sparrow Wallet |
|---|---|---|
| Editorial rating | 4.0 | 4.7 (favoured on this row) |
| Status | Available | Available |
| Made by | ACINQ | Sparrow Wallet |
| Price | Free download | Free download |
| Who holds the keys | self-custodial, a real Lightning node running on your phone behind a 12 word seed | self-custodial, keys in an encrypted file on your own computer or on a hardware signer, with no account anywhere |
| Bitcoin-only | Yes | Yes |
| Runs on | iOS, Android | Windows, macOS, Linux |
| Screen | Not stated | Not stated |
| Connectivity | Lightning only, connecting to ACINQ's nodes, with the option to watch the chain through your own Electrum server | Public Electrum servers, your own Electrum server, or Bitcoin Core, with Tor built in |
| Released | December 2019, alongside ACINQ's Eclair node implementation | Not stated |
| Countries on the maker's list | No published list | No published list |
| Last reviewed | 2026-08-26 | 2026-08-25 |
Pros and cons, side by side
Phoenix
What works
- A real self-custodial Lightning node on the phone, not an account on somebody's server
- Fees published as a table on ACINQ's own site: 0.4% plus 4 sat to send, free to receive when you have liquidity
- Standard BIP39 seed on a BIP84 path, recoverable in Electrum if ACINQ ever disappeared
- Built by ACINQ, which develops the Eclair implementation and runs a large routing node
- Rotating taproot receive addresses, with swaps that look like ordinary transactions on chain
What to watch
- ACINQ's own FAQ says Phoenix offers no privacy advantage over a custodial wallet and that ACINQ knows the destination and amount of payments
- Receiving without enough inbound liquidity costs 1% plus mining fees, and a new channel costs 1,000 sat
- No on-chain balance, which makes it a spending wallet rather than somewhere to park savings
- Recovering from a force close takes roughly 720 blocks, about five days
- Wake-up notifications rely on Google services, so GrapheneOS users need the sandboxed Play Services app
- Was off US app stores from May 3, 2024 until some point in 2025, which is why some reviews still call it unavailable there
Sparrow Wallet
What works
- Bitcoin only, open source and free, with no account and no server holding anything of yours
- First-class multisig: build a quorum across several hardware signers and keep the descriptor
- Works with hardware wallets over USB or fully air-gapped by QR code or SD card, with complete PSBT support
- Full coin control and labels on every transaction, input and output, plus a transaction editor that shows the raw bytes
- Every release ships a signed manifest, and Sparrow verifies the next download, Bitcoin Core and hardware wallet firmware from inside the app
- Connects to your own Electrum server or Bitcoin Core, with Tor built in
What to watch
- Desktop only: there is no iOS or Android app
- The UTXO detail and the transaction editor are the point, and they are a lot to meet on day one
- No built-in way to buy bitcoin, so the coins have to arrive from an exchange or a peer
- Effectively a single maintainer, which is a concentration risk whatever the quality of the code
Frequently asked questions
Is Phoenix or Sparrow Wallet better?
Sparrow Wallet rates higher on our rubric: 4.7 against 4.0 for Phoenix. The rating follows the product rubric published on our about page; the rows above set custody, price and platforms side by side so you can check it.
Are Phoenix and Sparrow Wallet free?
Yes, both are free to download. What differs is who holds the keys: Phoenix is self-custodial, a real Lightning node running on your phone behind a 12 word seed; Sparrow Wallet is self-custodial, keys in an encrypted file on your own computer or on a hardware signer, with no account anywhere.
Is Phoenix or Sparrow Wallet bitcoin-only?
Both are bitcoin-only: neither supports another coin, which is a deliberate design choice for a smaller codebase.
The full reviews: Phoenix and Sparrow Wallet, each with its sources, and every wallet we review.
More comparisons
Every other head-to-head Phoenix or Sparrow Wallet appears in.
- Aqua vs Phoenix
- Atomic Wallet vs Phoenix
- Bitcoin Core vs Phoenix
- Blockstream Green vs Phoenix
- BlueWallet vs Phoenix
- Cake Wallet vs Phoenix
- Coinbase Wallet vs Phoenix
- Edge vs Phoenix
- Electrum vs Phoenix
- Exodus vs Phoenix
- Guarda Wallet vs Phoenix
- MetaMask vs Phoenix
- Muun vs Phoenix
- Mycelium vs Phoenix
- Phoenix vs Trust Wallet
- Phoenix vs Wallet of Satoshi
- Phoenix vs Wasabi Wallet
- Phoenix vs Zengo
- Aqua vs Sparrow Wallet
- Atomic Wallet vs Sparrow Wallet
- Bitcoin Core vs Sparrow Wallet
- Blockstream Green vs Sparrow Wallet
- BlueWallet vs Sparrow Wallet
- Cake Wallet vs Sparrow Wallet
- Coinbase Wallet vs Sparrow Wallet
- Edge vs Sparrow Wallet
- Electrum vs Sparrow Wallet
- Exodus vs Sparrow Wallet
- Guarda Wallet vs Sparrow Wallet
- MetaMask vs Sparrow Wallet
- Muun vs Sparrow Wallet
- Mycelium vs Sparrow Wallet
- Sparrow Wallet vs Trust Wallet
- Sparrow Wallet vs Wallet of Satoshi
- Sparrow Wallet vs Wasabi Wallet
- Sparrow Wallet vs Zengo
