Skip to content
buybitcoinsmart

BlueWallet vs Wallet of Satoshi

Comparing
two wallets
Decided by
Editorial rating
Last reviewed
2026-08-25
BlueWallet4.2Bitcoin-only

Bitcoin-only phone wallet with real coin control and multisig vaults, whose Lightning side is custodial unless you run the server yourself.

Wallet of Satoshi2.7Bitcoin-onlyWarning

The easiest Lightning wallet to start with, and a custodial one: the company holds your coins, and it has stopped offering that in the US and the EU.

Verdict: BlueWallet

BlueWallet rates higher on our rubric: 4.2 against 2.7 for Wallet of Satoshi.

Criterion
Editorial rating
BlueWallet
4.2
Wallet of Satoshi
2.7

BlueWallet and Wallet of Satoshi, fact by fact

Every row is from the two reviews as of their review dates, with sources on each. A check marks the side a decidable criterion favours; rows without one are information, not a score.

BlueWallet and Wallet of Satoshi compared fact by fact from their reviews; a check marks the side a decidable criterion favours.
FactBlueWalletWallet of Satoshi
Editorial rating4.2 (favoured on this row)2.7
StatusAvailableCaution: see the review
Made byBlueWalletLiving Room of Satoshi Pty Ltd
PriceFree downloadFree download
Who holds the keysself-custodial on-chain, while a Lightning balance is only as self-custodial as the LNDHub server behind itcustodial in its default mode, meaning the company holds the keys, with a separate self-custodial mode where you do
Bitcoin-onlyYesYes
Runs oniOS, AndroidiOS, Android
ScreenNot statedNot stated
ConnectivityTalks to public Electrum servers or one you run; Lightning needs an LNDHub server, yours or someone else'sNot stated
ReleasedBlueWallet dates itself to the 2017 fork wars; the iOS and Android apps followedThe custodial service left the US on November 23, 2023 and the European Union at the turn of 2026
Countries on the maker's listNo published listNo published list
Last reviewed2026-08-252026-08-25

Pros and cons, side by side

BlueWallet

What works

  • Bitcoin only, open source and free, from the App Store, Google Play or a direct download
  • Genuine coin control: label and freeze individual coins, batch sends, and speed up or cancel with RBF and CPFP
  • Signs for Coldcard, Passport, Jade, Keystone and other PSBT hardware wallets, and runs watch-only so keys never touch the phone
  • Multisig vaults for larger holdings, documented step by step by the project
  • Connects to your own Electrum server, so you do not have to hand your addresses to a stranger's
  • Plausible deniability storage for a forced-disclosure situation

What to watch

  • A Lightning wallet here is an account on an LNDHub server, and whoever runs it can move those funds
  • Running your own LNDHub means a VPS or a home node, which is far past what most phone users will do
  • Lightning funds are not covered by the on-chain recovery phrase and need a separate backup
  • A hot wallet on a phone, so device malware or an unlocked screen reaches what the app can spend

Wallet of Satoshi

What works

  • The fastest way onto Lightning there is: no channels, no liquidity management and no node to run
  • Free Lightning address that reads like an email, so anyone can pay you without scanning a code
  • Pays Lightning invoices and on-chain bitcoin addresses from the same box, detecting which you pasted
  • A self-custodial mode is offered everywhere, including in regions where the custodial one is not
  • No breach of its custodial infrastructure has been publicly reported

What to watch

  • Custodial in its default mode, so the company can freeze, lose or stop serving your balance
  • Left the US market on November 23, 2023 and has not announced a return
  • Withdrew the custodial service across the European Union at the turn of 2026, pushing EU users into self-custody
  • No published country list, so which mode you get is decided by the app rather than by a page you can read first
  • In-app buying runs through third-party partners whose country coverage changes without the wallet saying anything

Frequently asked questions

Is BlueWallet or Wallet of Satoshi better?

BlueWallet rates higher on our rubric: 4.2 against 2.7 for Wallet of Satoshi. The rating follows the product rubric published on our about page; the rows above set custody, price and platforms side by side so you can check it.

Are BlueWallet and Wallet of Satoshi free?

Yes, both are free to download. What differs is who holds the keys: BlueWallet is self-custodial on-chain, while a Lightning balance is only as self-custodial as the LNDHub server behind it; Wallet of Satoshi is custodial in its default mode, meaning the company holds the keys, with a separate self-custodial mode where you do.

Is BlueWallet or Wallet of Satoshi bitcoin-only?

Both are bitcoin-only: neither supports another coin, which is a deliberate design choice for a smaller codebase.

Does BlueWallet or Wallet of Satoshi carry a warning?

Wallet of Satoshi: Wallet of Satoshi pulled its app from US app stores and stopped serving US customers on November 23, 2023, then withdrew its custodial Lightning service across the European Union at the turn of 2026, as the MiCA transition periods and the DAC8 reporting rules closed in on custodial providers. EU users are offered the self-custodial mode instead. Wherever the custodial mode is still available, the company holds the keys, which is the risk to weigh before you put money in it.

The full reviews: BlueWallet and Wallet of Satoshi, each with its sources, and every wallet we review.

More comparisons

Every other head-to-head BlueWallet or Wallet of Satoshi appears in.