Skip to content
buybitcoinsmart

BlueWallet vs Wasabi Wallet

Comparing
two wallets
Decided by
Editorial rating
Last reviewed
2026-08-25
BlueWallet4.2Bitcoin-only

Bitcoin-only phone wallet with real coin control and multisig vaults, whose Lightning side is custodial unless you run the server yourself.

Wasabi Wallet3.6Bitcoin-onlyWarning

Still a working bitcoin wallet, but the coinjoin coordinator that made its name was switched off by zkSNACKs on June 1, 2024.

Verdict: BlueWallet

BlueWallet rates higher on our rubric: 4.2 against 3.6 for Wasabi Wallet.

Criterion
Editorial rating
BlueWallet
4.2
Wasabi Wallet
3.6

BlueWallet and Wasabi Wallet, fact by fact

Every row is from the two reviews as of their review dates, with sources on each. A check marks the side a decidable criterion favours; rows without one are information, not a score.

BlueWallet and Wasabi Wallet compared fact by fact from their reviews; a check marks the side a decidable criterion favours.
FactBlueWalletWasabi Wallet
Editorial rating4.2 (favoured on this row)3.6
StatusAvailableCaution: see the review
Made byBlueWalletzkSNACKs
PriceFree downloadFree download
Who holds the keysself-custodial on-chain, while a Lightning balance is only as self-custodial as the LNDHub server behind itself-custodial, keys generated and stored on your own computer, never held by zkSNACKs
Bitcoin-onlyYesYes
Runs oniOS, AndroidWindows, macOS, Linux
ScreenNot statedNot stated
ConnectivityTalks to public Electrum servers or one you run; Lightning needs an LNDHub server, yours or someone else'sAll traffic over Tor by default, compact block filters instead of a server that learns your addresses, and hardware signing through HWI for Trezor, Coldcard, Ledger, Blockstream Jade and BitBox02
ReleasedBlueWallet dates itself to the 2017 fork wars; the iOS and Android apps followed2018; the download page serves version 2.8.1 for Windows, macOS and Linux
Countries on the maker's listNo published listNo published list
Last reviewed2026-08-252026-08-25

Pros and cons, side by side

BlueWallet

What works

  • Bitcoin only, open source and free, from the App Store, Google Play or a direct download
  • Genuine coin control: label and freeze individual coins, batch sends, and speed up or cancel with RBF and CPFP
  • Signs for Coldcard, Passport, Jade, Keystone and other PSBT hardware wallets, and runs watch-only so keys never touch the phone
  • Multisig vaults for larger holdings, documented step by step by the project
  • Connects to your own Electrum server, so you do not have to hand your addresses to a stranger's
  • Plausible deniability storage for a forced-disclosure situation

What to watch

  • A Lightning wallet here is an account on an LNDHub server, and whoever runs it can move those funds
  • Running your own LNDHub means a VPS or a home node, which is far past what most phone users will do
  • Lightning funds are not covered by the on-chain recovery phrase and need a separate backup
  • A hot wallet on a phone, so device malware or an unlocked screen reaches what the app can spend

Wasabi Wallet

What works

  • Bitcoin only and open source under an MIT license, with a public repository that is still actively developed
  • Self-custodial: keys are generated and stored on your own computer, and zkSNACKs never held funds
  • Every connection runs over Tor by default, and compact block filters mean no server learns which addresses are yours
  • Hardware wallet signing through HWI for Trezor, Coldcard, Ledger, Blockstream Jade and BitBox02
  • Full coin control, transaction labeling and privacy suggestions that name who will learn about a payment
  • Coinjoin is still in the software: you add a third-party coordinator in place of the one zkSNACKs ran

What to watch

  • zkSNACKs switched off its coinjoin coordinator on June 1, 2024, so the feature Wasabi was known for no longer works out of the box
  • Choosing and vetting a third-party coordinator is now your problem, and each sets its own fees and terms
  • Desktop only: Wasabi's own site states it is not available on mobile
  • Trezor Suite coinjoin and BTCPay Server integrations that used the same coordinator broke on the same day
  • Silent payments are send-only: Wasabi cannot yet generate or receive to a silent payment address

Frequently asked questions

Is BlueWallet or Wasabi Wallet better?

BlueWallet rates higher on our rubric: 4.2 against 3.6 for Wasabi Wallet. The rating follows the product rubric published on our about page; the rows above set custody, price and platforms side by side so you can check it.

Are BlueWallet and Wasabi Wallet free?

Yes, both are free to download. What differs is who holds the keys: BlueWallet is self-custodial on-chain, while a Lightning balance is only as self-custodial as the LNDHub server behind it; Wasabi Wallet is self-custodial, keys generated and stored on your own computer, never held by zkSNACKs.

Is BlueWallet or Wasabi Wallet bitcoin-only?

Both are bitcoin-only: neither supports another coin, which is a deliberate design choice for a smaller codebase.

Does BlueWallet or Wasabi Wallet carry a warning?

Wasabi Wallet: zkSNACKs announced on May 2, 2024, days after US prosecutors charged the founders of Samourai Wallet, that it would discontinue the coinjoin coordination service behind Wasabi's headline privacy feature, and switched it off on June 1, 2024. The wallet is still developed and still works as a self-custodial, bitcoin-only desktop wallet, and coinjoin remains in the software, but you now have to find and trust a third-party coordinator to use it.

The full reviews: BlueWallet and Wasabi Wallet, each with its sources, and every wallet we review.

More comparisons

Every other head-to-head BlueWallet or Wasabi Wallet appears in.