Skip to content
buybitcoinsmart

Muun vs Wallet of Satoshi

Comparing
two wallets
Decided by
Editorial rating
Last reviewed
2026-08-25
Muun3.8Bitcoin-only

On-chain and Lightning in one balance behind a 2-of-2 multisig, backed up by an Emergency Kit file rather than twelve words.

Wallet of Satoshi2.7Bitcoin-onlyWarning

The easiest Lightning wallet to start with, and a custodial one: the company holds your coins, and it has stopped offering that in the US and the EU.

Verdict: Muun

Muun rates higher on our rubric: 3.8 against 2.7 for Wallet of Satoshi.

Criterion
Editorial rating
Muun
3.8
Wallet of Satoshi
2.7

Muun and Wallet of Satoshi, fact by fact

Every row is from the two reviews as of their review dates, with sources on each. A check marks the side a decidable criterion favours; rows without one are information, not a score.

Muun and Wallet of Satoshi compared fact by fact from their reviews; a check marks the side a decidable criterion favours.
FactMuunWallet of Satoshi
Editorial rating3.8 (favoured on this row)2.7
StatusAvailableCaution: see the review
Made byMuunLiving Room of Satoshi Pty Ltd
PriceFree downloadFree download
Who holds the keysself-custodial, a 2-of-2 multisig where your phone holds one key and your Emergency Kit holds bothcustodial in its default mode, meaning the company holds the keys, with a separate self-custodial mode where you do
Bitcoin-onlyYesYes
Runs oniOS, AndroidiOS, Android
ScreenNot statedNot stated
ConnectivityOne balance across on-chain and Lightning, with submarine swaps moving funds between the twoNot stated
ReleasedAnnounced for iOS in October 2019, after the Android appThe custodial service left the US on November 23, 2023 and the European Union at the turn of 2026
Countries on the maker's listNo published listNo published list
Last reviewed2026-08-252026-08-25

Pros and cons, side by side

Muun

What works

  • One balance for on-chain and Lightning, so you never have to choose a rail before paying
  • 2-of-2 multisig means a stolen or malware-infected phone alone cannot spend your bitcoin
  • The Emergency Kit carries both keys and the output descriptors, so recovery does not depend on Muun
  • Mempool-based fee estimator, with the method published rather than asserted
  • Free, self-custodial and bitcoin only on both iOS and Android

What to watch

  • Your backup is an Emergency Kit file plus a recovery code, not twelve words you can stamp into steel
  • The newest post on Muun's blog was written days before taproot activated in November 2021
  • Payments that need a submarine swap settle on chain, and mining fees on those have surprised users
  • No coin control, no hardware wallet pairing and no way to point it at your own node

Wallet of Satoshi

What works

  • The fastest way onto Lightning there is: no channels, no liquidity management and no node to run
  • Free Lightning address that reads like an email, so anyone can pay you without scanning a code
  • Pays Lightning invoices and on-chain bitcoin addresses from the same box, detecting which you pasted
  • A self-custodial mode is offered everywhere, including in regions where the custodial one is not
  • No breach of its custodial infrastructure has been publicly reported

What to watch

  • Custodial in its default mode, so the company can freeze, lose or stop serving your balance
  • Left the US market on November 23, 2023 and has not announced a return
  • Withdrew the custodial service across the European Union at the turn of 2026, pushing EU users into self-custody
  • No published country list, so which mode you get is decided by the app rather than by a page you can read first
  • In-app buying runs through third-party partners whose country coverage changes without the wallet saying anything

Frequently asked questions

Is Muun or Wallet of Satoshi better?

Muun rates higher on our rubric: 3.8 against 2.7 for Wallet of Satoshi. The rating follows the product rubric published on our about page; the rows above set custody, price and platforms side by side so you can check it.

Are Muun and Wallet of Satoshi free?

Yes, both are free to download. What differs is who holds the keys: Muun is self-custodial, a 2-of-2 multisig where your phone holds one key and your Emergency Kit holds both; Wallet of Satoshi is custodial in its default mode, meaning the company holds the keys, with a separate self-custodial mode where you do.

Is Muun or Wallet of Satoshi bitcoin-only?

Both are bitcoin-only: neither supports another coin, which is a deliberate design choice for a smaller codebase.

Does Muun or Wallet of Satoshi carry a warning?

Wallet of Satoshi: Wallet of Satoshi pulled its app from US app stores and stopped serving US customers on November 23, 2023, then withdrew its custodial Lightning service across the European Union at the turn of 2026, as the MiCA transition periods and the DAC8 reporting rules closed in on custodial providers. EU users are offered the self-custodial mode instead. Wherever the custodial mode is still available, the company holds the keys, which is the risk to weigh before you put money in it.

The full reviews: Muun and Wallet of Satoshi, each with its sources, and every wallet we review.

More comparisons

Every other head-to-head Muun or Wallet of Satoshi appears in.