Skip to content
buybitcoinsmart

Muun vs Wasabi Wallet

Comparing
two wallets
Decided by
Editorial rating
Last reviewed
2026-08-25
Muun3.8Bitcoin-only

On-chain and Lightning in one balance behind a 2-of-2 multisig, backed up by an Emergency Kit file rather than twelve words.

Wasabi Wallet3.6Bitcoin-onlyWarning

Still a working bitcoin wallet, but the coinjoin coordinator that made its name was switched off by zkSNACKs on June 1, 2024.

Verdict: Muun

Muun rates higher on our rubric: 3.8 against 3.6 for Wasabi Wallet.

Criterion
Editorial rating
Muun
3.8
Wasabi Wallet
3.6

Muun and Wasabi Wallet, fact by fact

Every row is from the two reviews as of their review dates, with sources on each. A check marks the side a decidable criterion favours; rows without one are information, not a score.

Muun and Wasabi Wallet compared fact by fact from their reviews; a check marks the side a decidable criterion favours.
FactMuunWasabi Wallet
Editorial rating3.8 (favoured on this row)3.6
StatusAvailableCaution: see the review
Made byMuunzkSNACKs
PriceFree downloadFree download
Who holds the keysself-custodial, a 2-of-2 multisig where your phone holds one key and your Emergency Kit holds bothself-custodial, keys generated and stored on your own computer, never held by zkSNACKs
Bitcoin-onlyYesYes
Runs oniOS, AndroidWindows, macOS, Linux
ScreenNot statedNot stated
ConnectivityOne balance across on-chain and Lightning, with submarine swaps moving funds between the twoAll traffic over Tor by default, compact block filters instead of a server that learns your addresses, and hardware signing through HWI for Trezor, Coldcard, Ledger, Blockstream Jade and BitBox02
ReleasedAnnounced for iOS in October 2019, after the Android app2018; the download page serves version 2.8.1 for Windows, macOS and Linux
Countries on the maker's listNo published listNo published list
Last reviewed2026-08-252026-08-25

Pros and cons, side by side

Muun

What works

  • One balance for on-chain and Lightning, so you never have to choose a rail before paying
  • 2-of-2 multisig means a stolen or malware-infected phone alone cannot spend your bitcoin
  • The Emergency Kit carries both keys and the output descriptors, so recovery does not depend on Muun
  • Mempool-based fee estimator, with the method published rather than asserted
  • Free, self-custodial and bitcoin only on both iOS and Android

What to watch

  • Your backup is an Emergency Kit file plus a recovery code, not twelve words you can stamp into steel
  • The newest post on Muun's blog was written days before taproot activated in November 2021
  • Payments that need a submarine swap settle on chain, and mining fees on those have surprised users
  • No coin control, no hardware wallet pairing and no way to point it at your own node

Wasabi Wallet

What works

  • Bitcoin only and open source under an MIT license, with a public repository that is still actively developed
  • Self-custodial: keys are generated and stored on your own computer, and zkSNACKs never held funds
  • Every connection runs over Tor by default, and compact block filters mean no server learns which addresses are yours
  • Hardware wallet signing through HWI for Trezor, Coldcard, Ledger, Blockstream Jade and BitBox02
  • Full coin control, transaction labeling and privacy suggestions that name who will learn about a payment
  • Coinjoin is still in the software: you add a third-party coordinator in place of the one zkSNACKs ran

What to watch

  • zkSNACKs switched off its coinjoin coordinator on June 1, 2024, so the feature Wasabi was known for no longer works out of the box
  • Choosing and vetting a third-party coordinator is now your problem, and each sets its own fees and terms
  • Desktop only: Wasabi's own site states it is not available on mobile
  • Trezor Suite coinjoin and BTCPay Server integrations that used the same coordinator broke on the same day
  • Silent payments are send-only: Wasabi cannot yet generate or receive to a silent payment address

Frequently asked questions

Is Muun or Wasabi Wallet better?

Muun rates higher on our rubric: 3.8 against 3.6 for Wasabi Wallet. The rating follows the product rubric published on our about page; the rows above set custody, price and platforms side by side so you can check it.

Are Muun and Wasabi Wallet free?

Yes, both are free to download. What differs is who holds the keys: Muun is self-custodial, a 2-of-2 multisig where your phone holds one key and your Emergency Kit holds both; Wasabi Wallet is self-custodial, keys generated and stored on your own computer, never held by zkSNACKs.

Is Muun or Wasabi Wallet bitcoin-only?

Both are bitcoin-only: neither supports another coin, which is a deliberate design choice for a smaller codebase.

Does Muun or Wasabi Wallet carry a warning?

Wasabi Wallet: zkSNACKs announced on May 2, 2024, days after US prosecutors charged the founders of Samourai Wallet, that it would discontinue the coinjoin coordination service behind Wasabi's headline privacy feature, and switched it off on June 1, 2024. The wallet is still developed and still works as a self-custodial, bitcoin-only desktop wallet, and coinjoin remains in the software, but you now have to find and trust a third-party coordinator to use it.

The full reviews: Muun and Wasabi Wallet, each with its sources, and every wallet we review.

More comparisons

Every other head-to-head Muun or Wasabi Wallet appears in.