Skip to content
buybitcoinsmart

Strike vs Swan Bitcoin

Comparing
two exchanges
Decided by
Editorial rating
Last reviewed
2026-08-12
Strike4.6Bitcoin-only

Lightning-native app for buying bitcoin and sending it anywhere instantly, with no added fee on transfers.

Swan Bitcoin4.4Bitcoin-only

DCA-first bitcoin-only platform with 0.99 percent fees, automatic withdrawals to self-custody and Bitcoin IRA options.

Verdict: Strike

Strike rates higher on our rubric: 4.6 against 4.4 for Swan Bitcoin.

Criterion
Editorial rating
Strike
4.6
Swan Bitcoin
4.4

Strike and Swan Bitcoin, fact by fact

Every row is from the two reviews as of their review dates, with sources on each. A check marks the side a decidable criterion favours; rows without one are information, not a score.

Strike and Swan Bitcoin compared fact by fact from their reviews; a check marks the side a decidable criterion favours.
FactStrikeSwan Bitcoin
Editorial rating4.6 (favoured on this row)4.4
Published feesFee shown before you confirmAbout 0.99% per purchase
Maker feeNot publishedNot published
Taker feeNot publishedNot published
Identity verificationRequiredRequired
Bitcoin-onlyYesYes
Payment rails supported42
Countries ranked in21
Ranks first in10
Countries shared11
Security record8 dated events, 1 incident, latest 2026-06-30No record on file
FoundedNot stated2019
HeadquartersChicago, Illinois, USNot stated
Last reviewed2026-08-122026-08-12

Where both Strike and Swan Bitcoin are ranked

Each country guide ranks its own roster on published fees, security record and local payment support, so the two can sit in a different order from one country to the next.

Countries whose guide ranks both Strike and Swan Bitcoin, with each platform's position in that guide.
CountryStatusStrike ranksSwan Bitcoin ranksComparison
United StatesLegal#6#5

Security records of the exchanges ranked in this comparison

Dated events from each review, newest first: breaches, enforcement actions, licences, audits and proof-of-reserves publications. 1 of the 2 carry no dated record on our reviews yet.

Strike8 events

  1. 2026-06-30Licence

    Strike Europe authorised under MiCA by the Maltese regulator

  2. 2026-03-05Licence

    NYDFS granted Strike a BitLicense and a money transmitter licence

  3. 2025-06-18Resolved

    Withdrawals can now be locked behind passkey or hardware key 2FA

The full record, with sources, in the Strike review

Frequently asked questions

Is Strike or Swan Bitcoin better?

Strike rates higher on our rubric: 4.6 against 4.4 for Swan Bitcoin. The rating weighs published fees, security record and local payment support; the table above sets each beside the other so you can check the score against the facts.

Which is cheaper, Strike or Swan Bitcoin?

Strike: Fee shown before you confirm. Swan Bitcoin: About 0.99% per purchase. Those are each platform's published headline rates; card purchases and instant-buy widgets cost more than the order book on both, and each review carries the full schedule.

Where can I use both Strike and Swan Bitcoin?

Both are ranked in our guides for United States. Strike is ranked in 2 countries in all and Swan Bitcoin in 1; each country guide ranks its own roster, so the two can sit in a different order from one country to the next.

Has Strike or Swan Bitcoin had a security incident?

Strike carries 1 incident among 8 dated events, the latest on 2023-10-30: Customer email list leaked, denied by Strike, then admitted. Swan Bitcoin carries no dated security record on our review yet, a gap in our records rather than a clean bill. Both reviews list every event with its source.

Do Strike and Swan Bitcoin require ID verification?

Strike: required; identity verification is required to use the app; requirements vary by country.. Swan Bitcoin: required.

The full reviews: Strike and Swan Bitcoin, each with its sources, and every exchange we review.

More comparisons

Every other head-to-head Strike or Swan Bitcoin appears in.