Skip to content
buybitcoinsmart

Binance vs Strike

Comparing
two exchanges
Decided by
Editorial rating
Last reviewed
2026-08-12

The largest crypto exchange by volume: the deepest bitcoin liquidity anywhere, the lowest headline spot fee of any major platform, and quarterly proof of reserves, under a settled US case and an independent monitor.

Strike4.6Bitcoin-only

Lightning-native app for buying bitcoin and sending it anywhere instantly, with no added fee on transfers.

Verdict: Strike

Strike rates higher on our rubric: 4.6 against 4.2 for Binance.

Criterion
Editorial rating
Binance
4.2
Strike
4.6

Binance and Strike, fact by fact

Every row is from the two reviews as of their review dates, with sources on each. A check marks the side a decidable criterion favours; rows without one are information, not a score.

Binance and Strike compared fact by fact from their reviews; a check marks the side a decidable criterion favours.
FactBinanceStrike
Editorial rating4.24.6 (favoured on this row)
Published feesFrom 0.1% spot, maker and takerFee shown before you confirm
Maker fee0.1% at the base tier, falling with 30-day volume and BNB holdingsNot published
Taker fee0.1% at the base tier, falling with 30-day volume and BNB holdingsNot published
Identity verificationRequiredRequired
Bitcoin-onlyNoYes
Payment rails supported424
Countries ranked in1812
Ranks first in1001
Countries shared11
Security record10 dated events, 2 incidents, latest 2026-06-258 dated events, 1 incident, latest 2026-06-30
Founded2017Not stated
HeadquartersNot statedChicago, Illinois, US
Last reviewed2026-08-122026-08-12

Where both Binance and Strike are ranked

Each country guide ranks its own roster on published fees, security record and local payment support, so the two can sit in a different order from one country to the next.

Countries whose guide ranks both Binance and Strike, with each platform's position in that guide.
CountryStatusBinance ranksStrike ranksComparison
El SalvadorLegal#2#1

Security records of the exchanges ranked in this comparison

Dated events from each review, newest first: breaches, enforcement actions, licences, audits and proof-of-reserves publications. Every exchange ranked here carries one.

Binance10 events

  1. 2026-06-25Licence

    Failed to obtain a MiCA licence and stopped serving EU clients

  2. 2025-12-08Licence

    Abu Dhabi regulator licensed the main Binance.com platform

  3. 2025-10-10Outage

    Pricing failure forced liquidations, 283 million dollars repaid

The full record, with sources, in the Binance review

Strike8 events

  1. 2026-06-30Licence

    Strike Europe authorised under MiCA by the Maltese regulator

  2. 2026-03-05Licence

    NYDFS granted Strike a BitLicense and a money transmitter licence

  3. 2025-06-18Resolved

    Withdrawals can now be locked behind passkey or hardware key 2FA

The full record, with sources, in the Strike review

Frequently asked questions

Is Binance or Strike better?

Strike rates higher on our rubric: 4.6 against 4.2 for Binance. The rating weighs published fees, security record and local payment support; the table above sets each beside the other so you can check the score against the facts.

Which is cheaper, Binance or Strike?

Binance: From 0.1% spot, maker and taker. Strike: Fee shown before you confirm. Those are each platform's published headline rates; card purchases and instant-buy widgets cost more than the order book on both, and each review carries the full schedule.

Where can I use both Binance and Strike?

Both are ranked in our guides for El Salvador. Binance is ranked in 181 countries in all and Strike in 2; each country guide ranks its own roster, so the two can sit in a different order from one country to the next.

Has Binance or Strike had a security incident?

Binance carries 2 incidents among 10 dated events, the latest on 2025-10-10: Pricing failure forced liquidations, 283 million dollars repaid. Strike carries 1 incident among 8 dated events, the latest on 2023-10-30: Customer email list leaked, denied by Strike, then admitted. Both reviews list every event with its source.

Do Binance and Strike require ID verification?

Binance: required; identity verification is mandatory for all users; there is no unverified tier.. Strike: required; identity verification is required to use the app; requirements vary by country..

The full reviews: Binance and Strike, each with its sources, and every exchange we review.

More comparisons

Every other head-to-head Binance or Strike appears in.