Skip to content
buybitcoinsmart

Atomic Wallet vs Cake Wallet

Comparing
two wallets
Decided by
Editorial rating
Last reviewed
2026-08-26
Atomic Wallet1.2Warning

Do not keep bitcoin here: over 5,500 wallets were emptied in June 2023 and the cause was never published.

Open source Monero-first wallet with real bitcoin privacy tools, carrying a 2021 key generation bug that is still costing people coins.

Verdict: Cake Wallet

Cake Wallet rates higher on our rubric: 3.3 against 1.2 for Atomic Wallet.

Criterion
Editorial rating
Atomic Wallet
1.2
Cake Wallet
3.3

Atomic Wallet and Cake Wallet, fact by fact

Every row is from the two reviews as of their review dates, with sources on each. A check marks the side a decidable criterion favours; rows without one are information, not a score.

Atomic Wallet and Cake Wallet compared fact by fact from their reviews; a check marks the side a decidable criterion favours.
FactAtomic WalletCake Wallet
Editorial rating1.23.3 (favoured on this row)
StatusCaution: see the reviewAvailable
Made byAtomic WalletCake Labs
PriceFree downloadFree download
Who holds the keysself-custodial, keys generated on your device and encrypted with your passwordself-custodial, seed and keys generated and stored on your own device, with no account and no telemetry
Bitcoin-onlyNoNo
Runs oniOS, Android, Windows, macOS, LinuxiOS, Android, Windows, macOS, Linux
ScreenNot statedNot stated
ConnectivityNot statedTor for all traffic, connection to your own node, Ledger hardware signing, and silent payments plus PayJoin on the bitcoin side
Released20172018, launched as the first open-source Monero wallet on iOS
Countries on the maker's listNo published listNo published list
Last reviewed2026-08-262026-08-25

Pros and cons, side by side

Atomic Wallet

What works

  • Keys are held on your device, so a working install still lets you move your own coins out
  • Desktop builds are published for Windows, macOS, Ubuntu, Debian and Fedora, with a hashsum check for the download
  • One app covers bitcoin and more than a thousand other assets, which is why so many people kept so much in it

What to watch

  • More than 5,500 wallets were drained on June 2 and 3, 2023, for over $100 million by Elliptic's count
  • Atomic has never published a confirmed technical cause, offering four possibilities and picking none
  • No compensation has been paid to the people who lost money
  • Its first public statements put the damage at under 0.1% and then under 1% of users, which the on-chain evidence contradicted
  • The first class action was thrown out in 2024 on jurisdiction rather than on the facts, and a second is now pending in California
  • The homepage says nothing about the incident and still runs testimonials from a man who died in 2021

Cake Wallet

What works

  • Open source under an MIT license, with a public repository that is actively developed
  • Self-custodial with no account and no KYC, and, in Cake's words, zero data collection or telemetry
  • Genuine bitcoin privacy tooling: silent payments and PayJoin, plus Tor for all traffic and your own node
  • Handles Monero properly, which almost no other multi-asset wallet does
  • Ledger hardware wallet support, plus Cake's own two-factor option and biometric unlock
  • Reachable outside the app stores: direct APK, Accrescent, and Windows and Linux builds

What to watch

  • Bitcoin wallets created before v4.1.7 are permanently unsafe and have to be replaced, not just updated
  • The Milk Sad researchers traced sweeps of those weak wallets continuing into 2024, three years after the warning
  • The flaw was in Cake's own key generation code rather than a third-party library, and it ran through 2020 and 2021
  • Multi-asset by design, so it carries far more chains and far more code than a bitcoin-only wallet
  • Monero's privacy guarantees and much more transparent chains share one app, which takes care to use well

Frequently asked questions

Is Atomic Wallet or Cake Wallet better?

Cake Wallet rates higher on our rubric: 3.3 against 1.2 for Atomic Wallet. The rating follows the product rubric published on our about page; the rows above set custody, price and platforms side by side so you can check it.

Are Atomic Wallet and Cake Wallet free?

Yes, both are free to download. What differs is who holds the keys: Atomic Wallet is self-custodial, keys generated on your device and encrypted with your password; Cake Wallet is self-custodial, seed and keys generated and stored on your own device, with no account and no telemetry.

Is Atomic Wallet or Cake Wallet bitcoin-only?

Neither: both support assets beyond bitcoin. Atomic Wallet: Bitcoin plus more than 1,000 other coins and tokens, by Atomic's own count. Cake Wallet: Multi-asset: Monero, bitcoin, Lightning, Litecoin, Ethereum, Solana, Zcash, Bitcoin Cash and more.

Does Atomic Wallet or Cake Wallet carry a warning?

Atomic Wallet: On June 2 and 3, 2023, more than 5,500 Atomic Wallet users had their balances emptied in a single coordinated event. Elliptic put the total above $100 million and attributed it to North Korea's Lazarus Group. Atomic Wallet has never published a confirmed technical cause and no compensation has been paid. The first US class action was dismissed in September 2024 for lack of personal jurisdiction rather than on the facts, and a second was filed in California in June 2025. The company's own homepage carries no mention of any of it.

The full reviews: Atomic Wallet and Cake Wallet, each with its sources, and every wallet we review.

More comparisons

Every other head-to-head Atomic Wallet or Cake Wallet appears in.